Jump to main content or area navigation.

Climate Change Contacts

Pacific Southwest, Region 9

Serving: Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Pacific Islands, Tribal Nations

Clean Energy & Climate Change
— Contact Information

The Regional Energy and Climate Change Team is a cross-divisional team that coordinates energy and climate change efforts in our region and identifies opportunities for mitigation work on an on-going basis.

Region 9 Clean Energy and Climate Change Team Members
The Regional Energy and Climate Change Team is a cross-divisional team that coordinates energy and climate change efforts in our region and identifies opportunities for mitigation work on an on-going basis. 
Regional Lead Coordinate Efforts Ben Machol (machol.ben@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3770
Air Liaison to States, Industry, Mexican Border; Fuel Efficient Vehicles; Partnerships

Ray Saracino (saracino.ray@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3361

Community and Ecosystems Division (CED) Liaison to Tribes, Pacific Islands; Smart Growth

Willard Chin  (chin.willard@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3797

Management Technical Services (MTS) Climate Change Science; Disseminate Information about Grants Matt Small (small.matthew@epa.gov)
(415) 947-3366
Office of Public Affairs (OPA) Climate Change Website Trish Hudnall (hudnall.patricia@epa.gov)
(415) 947-4277
Office of Regional Counsel (ORC) Green Existing Grant Programs; Attorney review Dan Reich (reich.daniel@epa.gov)
(415) 947-3911
Superfund Brownfields; Green Remediation Jeff Dhont (dhont.jeff@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3020
Sustainable Materials Management and Pollution Prevention Liaison to Local Government; Biogas Production; Green Buildings Zoe Heller (heller.zoe@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3074
Water Water Efficiency; Energy Efficiency at Water and Wastewater Treatment Plants Eric Byous (byous.eric@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3531
Charlotte Ely (ely.charlotte@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3731
Regional Sustainability Team Sustainability of EPA Regional Activities Laura Bloch (bloch.laura@epa.gov)
(415) 947-4165

The Clean Energy and Climate Change Office coordinates activities across all regional programs. The office works to build awareness of climate change issues and clean energy opportunities. Several staff work primarily on the West Coast Collaborative Exiting EPA (disclaimer) while others work with industry and state governments to engage in mitigation projects and provide assistance.

Region 9 Air Division - Clean Energy and Climate Change Office
Amy Zimpfer, Associate Director, Management Lead for Energy and Climate Change
Clean Energy and Climate Change Office
Ben Machol, Manager (Machol.Ben@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3770
John Mikulin (mikulin.john@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3956
Penny McDaniel (mcdaniel.penny@epa.gov)
(415) 947-4203
Trina Martynowicz (martynowicz.trina@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3474
Sarah Rizk (rizk.sarah@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3142
Raymond Saracino (saracino.ray@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3361
Cara Gillen (gillen.cara@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3382

Top of page

Region 9 NewsroomRegion 9 Programs Grants & FundingUS-Mexico Border Media CenterCareers About Region 9A-Z Index

Jump to main content.