Jump to main content.

Ozone Transport Commission (OTC) NOx Budget Program, 1999-2002

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA's About PDF page to learn more about PDF, and a link to the free Adobe Acrobat Reader.

This program was implemented from 1999 to 2002, and has since been replaced by the NOx Budget Trading Program under “the NOx SIP Call.”The information on this page is provided as historical background only.


The Ozone Transport Commission (OTC) comprises the states of Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Delaware, the northern counties of Virginia, and the District of Columbia. In September 1994, the OTC adopted a memorandum of understanding (MOU) to achieve regional emission reductions of nitrogen oxides (NOx). (However, Virginia did not sign the MOU.) These reductions are in addition to previous state efforts to control NOx emissions, which included the installation of reasonably available control technology (RACT). In signing the MOU, states have committed to developing and adopting regulations that would reduce region-wide NOx emissions in 1999 and further reduce emissions in 2003. This NOx Budget Program represents the Northeast's effort to control NOx emissions in order to make progress towards attainment of the ozone health standard.

For additional information, see Overview of the Ozone Transport Commission (OTC) NOx Budget Program.

Also see:


Local Navigation

Jump to main content.