Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Combined Heat and Power Partnership

Colorado Interconnection Standards

Date Last Updated8/11/2014
Policy TypeInterconnection Standard
Policy Administrator/Contact OfficeColorado Public Utilities Commission (CPUC)
Policy Initiation Date12/20/2005
Policy SummaryThe CPUC interconnection standards apply to CHP. The standards apply to all investor-owned utilities with 40,000 or more customers and to all cooperative utilities. Additionally, municipal utilities with 5,000 customers or more are required to adopt interconnection rules that are functionally similar to the CPUC's rules. The standards are based on the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission's (FERC) Small Generation Interconnection Procedures for three levels of systems:
  • Level 1: applies to inverter-based units <10 kW that comply with IEEE 1547 and UL 1741 technical standards. Liability insurance of at least $300,000 for a single incident is required.
  • Level 2: applies to units up to 2 MW that comply with IEEE 1547 and UL 1741 technical standards. Several screening tests are required at this level to determine if more detailed review is needed. If a proposed project fails one of the screening tests an owner may have to pay for additional tests or move to Level 3. Liability insurance with a single occurrence limit of $1 million is required for systems between 10 kW and 500 kW at the customer's expense. Systems between 500 kW and 2 MW must carry a $2 million insurance policy.
  • Level 3: applies to units up to 10 MW that do not qualify for either Level 1 or Level 2 interconnection. Fees associated with utility studies and a deposit may be required. Insurance liability will be determined on a case-by-case basis.
Interconnection to area networks for systems up to 300 kW in capacity is allowed under the same level of utility review as Level 2. The interconnection rules include provisions for dispute resolution, including the need for written notice of the dispute and the ability to bring in a mutually agreed upon third party dispute resolution service. The rules also provide timeframes for the utility to respond to each step of the application process.
CHP Eligibility RequirementsBoth fossil-fueled and renewably-fueled CHP systems are eligible for standardized interconnection.
Eligible Project Size (MW)Standardized interconnection applies to systems up to 10 MW.
Resource Website(s) http://programs.dsireusa.org/system/program/detail/1266 exit EPA

Top of page

Jump to main content.