Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Combined Heat and Power Partnership

Connecticut Interconnection Standards

Date Last Updated8/11/2014
Policy TypeInterconnection Standard
Policy Administrator/Contact OfficeConnecticut Public Utilities Regulatory Authority (PURA)
Policy Initiation Date12/5/2007
Policy SummaryConnecticut's interconnection standards apply to the state's two investor-owned utilities, Connecticut Light and Power Company and United Illuminating Company, and are for distributed generation systems, including CHP, up to 20 MW in capacity. The standards are based on the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission's (FERC) Small Generation Interconnection Procedures for three levels of systems:
  • Level 1: applies to certified, inverter-based systems <10 kW. The application fee for this level is $100 and a minimum liability insurance of $300,000 is required.
  • Level 2: applies to certified systems <2 MW. The application fee for this level is $500 and minimum liability insurance is required in the amount of $1 million for systems sized between 100 kW and less than 1 MW and $2 million for systems sized between 1 MW and 2 MW.
  • Level 3: applies to all other systems no larger 20 MW in capacity. Note that the standards include "additional process steps" for generators >5 MW. The application fee for this level is $1,000 and study fees will also apply. Insurance minimum levels are determined on a case-by-case basis.
Connecticut's guidelines require generators to install an external disconnect switch and an interconnection transformer. Generators must also indemnify the utility against "all causes of action," including personal injury or property damage to third parties.
CHP Eligibility RequirementsBoth fossil-fueled and renewably-fueled CHP systems are eligible for standardized interconnection.
Eligible Project Size (MW)Standardized interconnection applies to systems up to 20 MW.
Resource Website(s)

Top of page

Jump to main content.