Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Combined Heat and Power Partnership

Maine Interconnection Standards

Date Last Updated8/13/2014
Policy TypeInterconnection Standard
Policy Administrator/Contact OfficeMaine Public Utilities Commission (PUC)
Policy Initiation Date1/4/2010
Policy SummaryThe PUC adopted interconnection procedures for systems including CHP. These rules apply to all transmission and distribution utilities operating in Maine. The state based their interconnection guidelines on the Interstate Renewable Energy Council's (IREC) model interconnection standard. The interconnection procedures set four tiers of review for interconnection requests:
  • Level 1: applies to small certified, inverter-based facilities up to 10 kW. An application fee of $50 is charged for this level, and no liability insurance is required.
  • Level 2: applies to certified facilities up to 2 MW. An application fee of $50 plus $1/kW of generator capacity is charged for this level.
  • Level 3: applies to non-exporting, certified facilities up to 10 MW. An application fee of $100 plus $1.50/kW of generator capacity is charged for this level.
  • Level 4: applies to any generating facility that does not qualify for levels 1, 2, or 3, and is not subject Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) jurisdiction. An application fee of $100 plus $2.00/kW is charged for this level, as well as interconnection study fees and any utility upgrades to accommodate the interconnection.
Insurance requirements differ based on the size of the generating facility. No insurance is required for inverter-based facilities with rated capacity 1 MW or less. Inverter-based facilities with rated capacity exceeding 1 MW but less than or equal to 5 MW must carry liability insurance with coverage of at least $1 million. Facilities with rated capacity greater than 5 MW must carry liability insurance with coverage of at least $2 million. Insurance coverage for non-inverter-based generating facilities ranges from no insurance (50 kW or less) to $3 million (for facilities greater than 5 MW).

The rules include fast-tracked timelines for the utility to respond to the customer and perform feasibility studies. The utility is also required to designate a single point of contact for each application request, which is available to the applicant in the event they want to check on the status of their application. The PUC specifies that IEEE Standard 1547 and UL 1741 serve as the technical standards of evaluation. Systems are considered to be certified for interconnection operation if the components have been tested and listed by a Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory (NRTL) and if they meet the definition of certification under the FERC Order 2006 for Small Generator Interconnection Procedures. The utility cannot require a customer to install additional controls, perform additional tests, or purchase additional liability insurance beyond what is in the IREC standard.
CHP Eligibility RequirementsBoth fossil-fueled and renewably-fueled CHP systems are eligible for standardized interconnection.
Eligible Project Size (MW)All sizes are eligible.
Applicable FormsApplicable forms can be found here.
Resource Website(s)

Top of page

Jump to main content.