Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Combined Heat and Power Partnership

FERC Small Generator Interconnection Procedures (SGIP) and Agreement (SGIA)

Date Last Updated8/12/2014
Policy TypeInterconnection Standard
Policy Administrator/Contact OfficeFederal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC)
Policy Initiation Date8/26/2006
Policy SummaryFERC with SGIP and SGIA sets standard terms and conditions for public utilities to interconnect new sources of distributed generation. The standards were most recently revised in November 2013 under Order No. 792. Original SGIP and SGIA requirements were
CHP Eligibility RequirementsThe SGIP apply to all distributed generation technologies including CHP.
Eligible Project Size (MW)Applies to distributed generation systems 20 MW or less.
Resource Website(s)

Top of page

Jump to main content.