Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Combined Heat and Power Partnership

IREC Model Interconnection Rules

Date Last Updated4/17/2013
Policy TypeInterconnection Standard
Policy Administrator/Contact OfficeInterstate Renewable Energy Council (IREC)
Policy Initiation Date1/1/2009
Policy SummaryIREC is a non-profit organization that focuses on issues that have an impact on expanded renewable energy use such as rules that support renewable energy and distributed resources in a restructured market and connecting small-scale renewables to the utility grid. IREC developed model interconnection rules that have been used as a template by several state utility commissions and utilities in developing their interconnection standards.

The Interconnection Procedures are applicable for all state-jurisdictional interconnections of Generating Facilities and outline four review paths:

1. Level 1 - For inverter-based Generating Facilities that pass specified screens and have a Generating Capacity of 25 kilowatts (kW) or less.
2. Level 2 - For Generating Facilities that pass specified screens and have a Generating Capacity of 2 megawatts (MW) or less.
3. Level 3 - For Generating Facilities that: (a) pass specified screens; (b) do not export power to the Utility; and (c) have a Generating Capacity of 10 MW or less.
4. Level 4 - For all Generating Facilities that do not qualify for Level 1, Level 2 or Level 3 interconnection review processes.

Each path identifies steps towards an interconnection agreement, including the type of form, the process by which an applicant submits an application and the process by which a utility can review an application. Unless waived by the Utility, a Generating Facility must comply with the following standards, as applicable:

1. IEEE Standard 1547 for Interconnecting Distributed Resources with Electric Power Systems for Generating Facilities up to 10 MW in size.
2. IEEE Standard 1547.1 for Conformance Test Procedures for Equipment Interconnecting Distributed Resources with Electric Power Systems.
3. UL 1741 Standard for Inverters, Converters and Controllers for Use in Independent Power Systems. UL 1741 compliance must be recognized or Certified by a Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory as designated by the U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration. Certification of a particular model or a specific piece of equipment is sufficient. It is also sufficient for an inverter built into a Generating Facility to be recognized as being UL 1741 compliant by a Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory.
CHP Eligibility RequirementsThe procedures apply to distributed energy technologies of all sizes including CHP.
Eligible Project Size (MW)Addresses state jurisdictional interconnections >10 MW.
Applicable FormsApplicable forms can be found here.
Resource Website(s)

Top of page

Jump to main content.