Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Combined Heat and Power Partnership

Wisconsin Interconnection Standards

Date Last Updated8/13/2014
Policy TypeInterconnection Standard
Policy Administrator/Contact OfficeThe Public Service Commission of Wisconsin (PSC)
Policy Initiation Date2/1/2004
Policy SummaryThe PSC has adopted interconnection standards for distributed generation (DG) including CHP systems up to 15 MW in capacity. The rules categorize DG including CHP systems by capacity and provide for several levels of interconnection review, as follows:
  • Category 1: applies to systems up to 20 kW.
  • Category 2: applies to systems >20 kW and up to 200 kW.
  • Category 3: applies to systems >200 kW and up to 1 MW.
  • Category 4: applies to systems >1 MW and up to 15 MW.
Generally speaking, Wisconsin's interconnection requirements become more stringent as the system size increases. The rules apply to all public utilities. The 20 kW dividing line between Category 1 and Category 2 installations corresponds to the maximum individual system capacity allowed under the state's net-metering rules. Systems that qualify for net-metering are not considered commercial ventures that require commercial liability insurance. Additionally, the PSC has published two sets of standard forms for interconnection. One set pertains to systems up to 20 kW while the second set applies to larger systems up to 15 MW. These forms are available on the program website.

Minimum liability insurance of at least $300,000 per occurrence is required for systems up to 20 kW (Category 1) with higher amounts for larger systems based on the category of review under which they fall. However, the law also permits applicants to prove financial responsibility using a negotiated agreement with the utility in lieu of the insurance requirements. Additionally, Category 2-4 facilities must name the utility as an additional insured party in the insurance policy.

Application and study fees vary by category, but systems up to 20 kW are not required to pay any fees. Facility owners are permitted to file an appeal with the PSC if they believe they are being held to unreasonable requirements, but the rules provide do not provide any guidance on how such appeals will be addressed. In practice, such an appeal would be addressed as a complaint under s. 196.26, Wis. Stats.
CHP Eligibility RequirementsBoth fossil-fueled and renewably-fueled CHP systems are eligible for standardized interconnection.
Eligible Project Size (MW)Standardized interconnection applies to systems up to 15 MW.
Resource Website(s)

Top of page

Jump to main content.