Jump to main content.

Climate Protection Awards


The EPA Climate Protection Awards were given out between 1998 and 2009 to recognize exceptional innovation, personal dedication and technical achievements in climate protection. Awards were presented in the corporate, individual, government sector, and non-profit categories. During the award program's duration, over one hundred awards were presented to individuals, companies, and organizations from the US, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, France, India, Italy, Japan, Mexico, the Netherlands, South Korea, Sweden, and the United Kingdom. Nominations were reviewed by an international panel of judges comprised of past award winners and EPA staff and were judged on the basis of four criteria: originality and public purpose, leadership and corporate responsibility, global perspective and implication, and greenhouse gas emission reductions achieved.

View previous Climate Protection Award winner accomplishments.
View comprehensive list of past Award winners.

Future Recognition for Climate Leadership

EPA is currently exploring options to improve its efforts to recognize leadership in climate protection. In January 2011, EPA issued a request for proposals for a jointly-sponsored recognition in the form of corporate climate leadership awards. EPA expects that the new award program will begin in mid to late 2011. For more information, please contact John Sottong at 202-343-9397 or email at sottong.john@epa.gov.

Local Navigation

Jump to main content.