Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

EPA's Region 6 Office

Serving: Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, and 66 Tribal Nations

Air State Implementation Plans

Section 110 of the Clean Air Act (Act) or (CAA) requires states to submit plans to EPA which provide for implementation, maintenance, and enforcement of the primary and secondary national ambient air quality standards for the criteria pollutants regulated under Title I of the Act (i.e., ozone, carbon monoxide, particulate matter less than or equal to 10 microns (PM-10), sulfur dioxide, nitrogen dioxide, and lead).

Each plan submitted must undergo reasonable notice and public hearing and include enforceable emission limitations and other control measures, schedules and timetables for compliance. The EPA approved SIP regulations are available for each State. 

The following are the designated nonattainment areas in Region 6 subject to the section 110 nonattainment planning requirements (as of 9/5/12): 

AREA
POLLUTANT CLASSIFICATION
Houston-Galveston-Brazoria, Tx 8-Hour Ozone (1997 standard)
Severe
Houston-Galveston-Brazoria, Tx 8-Hour Ozone (2008 standard)
Marginal
Beaumont-Port Arthur, Tx 8-Hour Ozone (2008 standard)
N/A
Dallas-Ft. Worth, Tx 8-Hour Ozone (1997 standard)
Serious
Dallas-Ft. Worth, Tx 8-Hour Ozone (2008 standard)
Moderate
Baton Rouge, La 8-Hour Ozone (2008 standard)
Marginal
Anthony, NM PM-10
N/A
El Paso, Tx PM-10
N/A
Collin County, Tx (portion) Lead (2008 standard)
N/A

Responsible staff members for specific SIPs are:

Texas - Carl Young (214) 665-6645 or Email: young.carl@epa.gov
    Beaumont-Port Arthur - Ellen Belk (214) 665-2164 or Email: belk.ellen@epa.gov
    Dallas-Fort Worth - Carrie Paige (214) 665-6521 or Email: paige.carrie@epa.gov
    Houston-Galveston-Brazoria - Carl Young (214) 665-6645 or Email: young.carl@epa.gov
Louisiana - Ellen Belk (214) 665-2164 or Email: belk.ellen@epa.gov

Oklahoma - Carrie Paige (214) 665-6521 or Email: paige.carrie@epa.gov
New Mexico - John Walser (214) 665-7128 or Email: walser.john@epa.gov
Arkansas - Jeff Riley (214) 665-8542 or
Email: riley.jeffrey@epa.gov
Modeling - Erik Snyder (214) 665-7305 or Email: snyder.erik@epa.gov
Carbon Monoxide (CO) - Joe Kordzi (214) 665-7186 or Email: kordzi.joe@epa.gov
Nitrogen Oxides (NOx) - Alan Shar (214) 665-6691 or Email: shar.alan@epa.gov
Ozone (O3) - Carrie Paige or Email: paige.carrie@epa.gov
Particulate Matter (PM) - Joe Kordzi (214) 665-7186 or Email: kordzi.joe@epa.gov
Processing and Tracking - Bill Deese (214) 665-7253 or Email: deese.william@epa.gov
Sulfur Dioxide (SO2) - Dayana Medina (214) 665-7241 or Email: medina.dayana@epa.gov
Visibility/Regional Haze - Joe Kordzi (214) 665-7186 or
Email: kordzi.joe@epa.gov
State Plans for Designated Facilities and Pollutants (111(d) Plans) - Ken Boyce (214) 665-7259 or Email: boyce.kenneth@epa.gov
Mobile Sources - John Walser (214) 665-7128 or Email: walser.john@epa.gov

Jump to main content.