Jump to main content.


Food recovery image banner

The Food Recovery Challenge is a national effort under the EPA's Sustainable Materials Management Program challenging businesses to reduce the amount of food sent to landfills and incinerators. More than 36 million tons of food waste was generated in 2011, 96 percent of which was thrown away into landfills or incinerators. If you are interested in joining the Food Recovery Challenge or learning more about how you can reduce food waste, select your state or territory from the map below.

Region 1 Region 2 Region 3 Region 4 Region 5 Region 7 Region 8 Region 10 Region 6 Region 9 Region 10 Region 9 Region 2 Region 9


Headquarters (Washington, DC)

Tiffany Kollar (kollar.tiffany@epa.gov)
703.308.8675

New England (Region 1)

Christine Beling (beling.christine@epa.gov)
857.829.8259

Janet Bowen (bowen.janet@epa.gov)
617.918.1795

New York/New Jersey (Region 2)

Lorraine Graves (graves.lorraine@epa.gov)
212.637.4099

Rachel Chaput (chaput.rachel@epa.gov)
212.637.4116

Shane Nelson (nelson.shane@epa.gov)
212.637.3130

Mid-Atlantic (Region 3)

Luke Wolfgang (wolfgang.luke@epa.gov)
215.814.2913

Southeast (Region 4)

Thornell Cheeks (cheeks.thornell@epa.gov)
404.562.8479

Great Lakes (Region 5)

Julie Schilf (schilf.julie@epa.gov)
312.886.0407

South Central (Region 6)

Golam Mustafa (mustafa.golam@epa.gov)
214.665.6576

Stephen Sturdivant (sturdivant.stephen@epa.gov)
214.665.6673

Midwest (Region 7)

Gayle Hubert (hubert.gayle@epa.gov)
913.551.7439

Jim Callier (callier.james@epa.gov)
913.551.7646

Mountains & Plains (Region 8)

Virginia Till (till.virginia@epa.gov)
303.312.6008

Pacific Southwest (Region 9)

Andre Villasenor (villasenor.andre@epa.gov)
213.244.1813

Wendi Shafir (shafir.wendi@epa.gov)
415.972.3422

Pacific Northwest (Region 10)

Ashley Zanolli (zanolli.ashley@epa.gov)
206.553.4425

Top of Page


Local Navigation




Jump to main content.