Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Extramural Research

Community Milestones

P3 Research Project Search
Enter Search Term:

Advanced Search

In: Winston-Salem Journal
Compiled By Elina Peurifoy
May 7, 2007

Students and their faculty advisers from Appalachian State University won the EPA's third annual P3 (People, Prosperity and the Planet) Award, a national student design contest for sustainability April 25. The winning entry was titled "The Affordable Bioshelters Project: Testing Technologies for Affordable Bioshelters." The team included Andy Franklin Bryant, Andrew Fulton, David Fulton, Sean M. Hackett, Caroline House, Zolbayar Javzmaa, Roscoe Oswald, Micah Shristi, Joe Smith, Yonatan Strauch and Brian Taddonio.

The award includes funding up to $75,000 for further development of the design.

The following students were named to the honor roll at St. John's Lutheran School for the third quarter: Avery Higgins, Leah Jones, Alex Rosenberger, Leah Wilkerson and Jack Witner, fifth grade "A" honor roll; Sara Beck, Henry Black, Anna Collins, Jade Gray, Summer Hutchens, Adam Kent, Trenton Lambeth, Alisha Patel and Caiti Yates, fifth grade "A/B" honor roll; Chris Armistead, Hayley Danch, Kelsey Holcomb, Brealynn Jarrett, Grayson Jones, Rachel Jones, Kristopher King, John Nelson, Natasha Peting, Tanner Poindexter, Rachel Webb and Jenna Wells, sixth grade "A"; Scott Armistead, Gabriela Borachini, Sarah Charles, Tate Patterson and Christopher Smith, sixth grade "A/B"; Cynthia Clarkson, Angel Joel, Meredith Johnson and Will Witner, seventh grade "A"; Amber Baldwin, Katie Baronowski, Sean Gartley, Meredith Macy, Chandler Morris, Danner Washburn and Micah Wells, seventh grade "A/B"; Anna Derian, Stephen Griffin, Jacob Higgins and Ryan Wingate, eighth grade "A"; and Luke Bartlett, Will Smith and Jacob Wells, eighth grade "A/B".

Top of page

Jump to main content.