Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Extramural Research - People, Prosperity and the Planet

EPA Honors Three Universities for Sustainability Projects

Important Links
P3 Research Project Search
Enter Search Term:

Advanced Search

In: Empire State News exit EPA
May 28, 2007

New York -- Providing clean drinking water for villagers in Ghana and Honduras and harnessing ocean wave energy are projects that demonstrate the promise of sustainable development and the enthusiasm and ingenuity of engineering students from three regional universities. 

Columbia University and Cornell University in New York and Stevens Institute of Technology in New Jersey have received Honorable Mention designations from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) for their projects submitted for the 2007 “People, Prosperity and the Planet Student Design Competition for Sustainability (P3).”

“The Columbia, Cornell and Stevens Institute students in this competition took their ideas about sustainable design and ran with them,” said EPA Regional Administrator Alan Steinberg.  “Their projects illustrate that sustainable development is not just a possibility, it’s a reality that can be applied here and in countries around the globe.”

EPA’s program “People, Prosperity and the Planet,” focuses on benefiting people,  promoting prosperity, and protecting the planet through innovative designs that address sustainability challenges in the developed and developing world.  The competition has two phases.  In the first phase, interdisciplinary teams of students competed for grants to support the research and development of their projects.  Each of the three honorees had received a $10,000 grant from EPA to support those efforts and the development of prototypes.  In the second phase, the teams attended the National Sustainable Design Expo in Washington, DC at which their projects were subject to peer review.  The Columbia, Cornell and Stevens Institute projects received their honorable mention designations at this year’s awards ceremony held recently at the National Academy of University of Sciences in Washington, D.C.

Jump to main content.