Jump to main content.

CCL-Related Links

National Contaminant Occurrence Database

Unregulated Contaminant Monitoring Program

Six Year Review of Existing Regulations

Review of the CCL Classification Process by the National Drinking Water Advisory Council

EPA has drinking water regulations for more than 90 contaminants. The Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA) requires EPA to list unregulated contaminants which are known or anticipated to occur in public water systems and which may require a national drinking water regulation in the future. Every five years, EPA must publish a list of contaminants called the Contaminant Candidate List (CCL). After publishing, EPA must also decide whether to regulate at least five contaminants from the list (called Regulatory Determinations). EPA uses the CCL to prioritize research and data collection efforts to inform the Agency's decision on whether we should regulate a specific contaminant.

In September 2009, EPA published the final version of the third Drinking Water Contaminant Candidate List (CCL 3).

In February 2008, EPA announced the draft third Drinking Water Contaminant Candidate List (CCL 3) and described the process and rationale used to develop the list.

The links below provide more information about Contaminant Candidate Lists and Regulatory Determinations.

Safewater Home | About Our Office | Publications | Questions and Answers | Links | Office of Water | En Español

Local Navigation

Jump to main content.