Jump to main content.

Agenda - Pesticide Program Dialogue Committee Meeting

Sheraton Crystal City Hotel
1800 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA
(703) 486-1111

April 16-17, 2003

Wednesday, April 16-17, 2003

9:00 - 9:15

Welcome and Opening Remarks
Jim Jones, Director, Office of Pesticide Programs, EPA
Allen Jennings, Director, Office of Pest Management, USDA

9:15 - 9:45 SESSION I: Follow-up Issues from Previous PPDC Meetings
Session Chair: Marty Monell, Deputy Office Director for Management, OPP
  • EPA’s Five-Year Plan
  • FY 2003 Pesticide Program Budget
9:45 - 10:00

SESSION II: "Updates"
Session Chair: Jim Jones, Director, OPP

  • Methyl Bromide
  • Harmonization–NAFTA Food Residue Subcommittee (MRLs)
  • Organics PR Notice
10:00 - 10:15 Break
10:15 - 11:30

SESSION III: Follow-up Issues (Continued)
Session Chair: Debbie Edwards, Director, Registration Division, OPP

  • Expediting Experimental Use Permits
    Peter Caulkins, Associate Director, Registration Division, OPP
  • Alternative Non-Animal or Reduced Animal Testing
    Panel: Mark Perry, EPA - OPP: Troy Seidle, PETA;
    Pat Quinn, The Accord Group; William McCormick, The Clorox Company
11:30 - 12:00

SESSION IV: "Updates"
Session Chair: Anne Lindsay, Acting Deputy Office Director, OPP

  • Endangered Species
  • Section 18 Reforms
  • Spray Drift
12:00 - 1:15


1:15 - 2:00 SESSION V: “Updates”

William Jordan, Senior Policy Advisor, OPP
  • Human Testing
  • Endocrine Disruption Methodology (Decision Criteria)
Margaret Stasikowski, Director, Health Effects Division
  • New Cancer Guidelines
  • Modified Drinking Water Assessment Approach

Kevin Keaney, Chief, Certification & Worker Protection Branch Field and External Affairs Division

  • Pesticide Worker Safety Programs:
    • Health Care Initiative
    • Agricultural Worker Protection March Workshop
    • Certification and Training
2:00 - 4:00

SESSION VI: Registration Review
Session Chairs: Luis Suguiyama and Vivian Prunier

3:00 - 3:15


4:00 - 4:45 SESSION VII: Follow-Up Issues (Continued)
Session Chair: Anne Lindsay, Acting Deputy Director for Programs, Office of Pesticide Programs
  • Inerts Risk Assessment Framework Implementation
      Kathryn Bolyle, Inerts Team, Registration Division
  • Inerts Disclosure
  • 408(i)
4:45 - 5:15 Public Comment
5:15 Day 1 Meeting Adjourns


Thursday, April 17, 2003

9:00 - 11:00

SESSION VIII: Improving Mosquito Control Labeling
Session Chair: Jim Roelofs, Field and External Affairs Division

Panel Discussion of EPA-State Work Group Recommendations
Panel: Mary Ellen Setting, MD Department of Ag; Cy Lesser, MD State Vector Control Official; Adrian Krygsman, Bayer Crop Science; Jack Neylan, EPA-OECA; Kevin Sweeney, EPA-OPP; Adam Goldberg, Consumers Union; and Duane Gubler, CDC (Invited)

Group Discussion to follow Panel Discussion

11:00 - 11:10 Break

11:10 - 11:20 SESSION IX: “Updates”
Session Chair: Janet Andersen, Director, BPPD, OPP

Presentations by Dr. Robert Holm, IR-4 Project;
and Gary Libman, Emerald Bio-Agriculture Corporation
  • Adoption of Biopesticides
11:20 - 11:40 SESSION X: Registration and Reregistration
Session Chairs: Debbie Edwards, Director, Registration Division
Frank Sanders, Director, Antimicrobials Division
Janet Andersen, Director, Biopesticides & Pollution Prevention Division
  • "Registration" Activities
Lois Rossi, Director, Special Review & Reregistration Division
  • "Reregistration" Activities
11:40 - 12:15 SESSION XI: Agenda Planning for Next PPDC Meeting Session Chair: Jim Jones, Director, OPP
  • Environmental Marketing Claims
  • Certification and Training
12:15 - 12:45

Public Comment

12:45 - 1:00

Meeting Wrap-Up


Meeting Adjourns


Publications | Glossary | A-Z Index | Jobs

Local Navigation

Jump to main content.