Jump to main content.


Integrating Green Purchasing Into Your Environmental Management System (EMS) - Conclusion, Acknowledgements, Disclaimer

As published by the EPA in April 2005.

Previous Section | Next Section | Table of Contents

4. CONCLUSION

The Federal agencies who participated in the development of this report have incorporated green procurement into their EMS policy and procedures. This is appropriate, since procurement and contracting activities are responsible for as much as 25%52 of an agency's budget and act as the gatekeeper for products and services that have the potential to contribute to diverse environmental impacts. By using EMS procedures to identify procurement as an environmental aspect and initiate operational controls to address these environmental impacts, agencies can encourage the use of green products and the implementation of sustainable operations.

Thus, the EMS can increase and focus efforts of product users, and the procurement and contracting personnel who support them, to seek out green products and processes that can provide similar or better performance quality than those products or processes currently in use. For example, buying low emissions vehicles to improve air quality, or choosing renewable energy sources to reduce CO2 emissions and their contribution to climate change, or specifying Integrated Pest Management and green landscaping services to reduce the impacts of pesticides and fertilizers on local rivers lakes and streams all can help to reduce a facility's overall environmental impacts. Monitoring and measuring the purchase and use of green products documents progress toward improved environmental performance and facilitates compliance with reporting requirements. Since purchase agreements are of limited duration, expiring contracts can drive a system toward continuous improvement by compelling an organization to consider green purchasing opportunities with each new purchase or contract renewal.53

Patty Wohl of California EPA sums up her agency's experience stating, "During this past year, we have experienced directly how EMS-based management increases the benefits of a green purchasing program by improving regulatory compliance and environmental performance; increasing efficiency; enhancing accountability; reducing costs; and enhancing morale through aligning actions with good intentions and formal commitments."

ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

Development of this module has been a group effort, from beginning to end. The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) would like to thank all of the agencies and individuals who shared lessons learned during the EMS implementation process, provided examples of successful incorporation of Green Procurement into their EMS, and/or provided valuable editorial comments.

Agencies and individuals whose expertise informed the contents of this report include:

Agency

Facility

Contact

Defense Logistics Agency (DLA)

Headquarters

Patti Wilson

Defense Logistics Agency (DLA)

Defense Reutilization and Marketing Service (DRMS)

Randy Smith

Randolph.J.Smith@dla.mil

Department of Agriculture (USDA)

Beltsville Area, Agricultural Research Service

David Prevar

prevard@ba.ars.usda.gov

Department of Commerce (DOC)

Headquarters

Pete Wixted

PWixted@doc.gov

Department of Defense (DOD)

Office of the Secretary of Defense

(Installations and Environment)

John Coho

john.coho@osd.mil

Department of Defense (DOD)

Pentagon

Engineering & Technical Service Division

Alan Smith

AlanSmith@ref.whs.mil

Department of Defense (DOD)

U.S. Air Force

Eglin AFB, FL

Karen Winnie

karen.winnie@eglin.af.mil

Department of Defense (DOD)

Air Force Center for Environmental Excellence (AFCEE)

Karen Kivela

Karen.Kivela@brooks.af.mil

Department of Defense (DOD)

U.S. Army

Fort Lewis, WA

Harry Fleming

harry.s.fleming@us.army.mil

Department of Defense (DOD)

U.S. Army

Fort Eustis, VA

Shonia Holloway

shonia.holloway@us.army.mil

Department of Defense (DOD)

U.S. Army

Tobyhanna Army Depot, PA

Craig Coffman

craig.coffman@us.army.mil

Department of Energy (DOE)

Alternate Fueled Vehicle Program

Shab Fardanesh

Shabnam.Fardanesh@ee.doe.gov

Department of Energy (DOE)

Federal Energy Management Program (FEMP)

Alison Thomas

alison.thomas@ee.doe.gov

Department of Energy (DOE)

Pacific Northwest National Laboratories (PNNL)

Sandra Cannon

sd_cannon@pnl.gov

Department of Homeland Security (DHS)

U.S. Coast Guard

Ken Malmberg

KMalmberg@comdt.uscg.mil

Department of the Interior (DOI)

Office of Environmental Policy and Compliance

Heather Davies

heather_davies@ios.doi.gov

Department of the Interior (DOI)

National Park Service

Grand Canyon National Park

Dr. Mary Ann McCloskey

mary_ann_mccloskey@nps.gov

Department of the Interior (DOI)

National Park Service Intermountain Region

J. Craig Erickson (consultant)

craig@mesllc.net

Department of the Interior (DOI)

National Park Service

Grand Canyon National Park Xanterra Resorts

Lisa McNeilly

lmcneilly@xanterra.com

Department of the Interior (DOI)

National Park Service

Concession Environmental Management Program

Christine Chui

christine_chui@contractor.nps.gov

Department of Transportation

Office of the Secretary of Transportation

Catherine Johnson

Catherine.Johnson@ost.dot.gov

Department of Veterans Affairs

Office of the Deputy Under Secretary for Health for Operations and Management

Jack Staudt

jack.staudt@hq.med.va.gov

Executive Office of the President

Office of the Federal Environmental Executive (OFEE)

Ed Pinero

pinero.ed@ofee.gov

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Office of Policy, Economics, and Innovation (OPEI)

Tim Stuart (retired)

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Office of the Federal Environmental Executive (OFEE)

Dana Arnold

arnold.dana@ofee.gov

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Office of Pollution Prevention & Toxics: Design for the Environment

Karen Chu

chu.karen@epa.gov

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Office of Pollution Prevention & Toxics: EPP-Federal Electronics

Challenge

Christopher Kent

kent.christopher@epa.gov

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Environmental Science Center, Fort Meade, MD

Greg Allen

allen.greg@epa.gov

Lynda Podhorniak

podhorniak.lynda@epa.gov

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Region 1

Robert Guillemin

guillemin.robert@epa.gov

Jean Holbrook

holbrook.jean@epa.gov

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Region 5

Christopher M. Newman

newman.christopherm@epa.gov

Lucy Stanfield

stanfield.lucy@epa.gov

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Region 9

Heather White

white.heather@epa.gov

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Region 10

Viccy Salazar

Salazar.viccy@epa.gov

Bruce Stapleton

stapleton.bruce@epa.gov

Jonell Allamano

Allamano.jonell@epa.gov

National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

Ames Research Center

Christel VanArsdale

christel.i.vanarsdale@nasa.gov

State of California

California Integrated Waste Management Board (CIWMB)

Patty Wohl

pwohl@ciwmb.ca.gov

U.S. Postal Service (USPS)

Northeast Region

Ron Robbins

ronald.f.robbins@email.usps.gov

DISCLAIMER

This report provides an overview of recent Federal government initiatives that incorporate green procurement into an Environmental Management System (EMS). References to specific products and technologies do not constitute endorsement of or recommendation for use of these products by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). This report features representative Federal government activities in green procurement and EMS. It does not represent the efforts of every Federal government agency initiating an EMS and it does not describe every activity initiated by the agencies highlighted.


52Federal Procurement Data System, 2002 Report, http://www.fpdsng.com/fpr_reports_fy_02.html

53Personal communication, Rob Guillemin, EPA Region 1, November, 2003.

Previous Section | Next Section | Table of Contents


Local Navigation


Jump to main content.