Jump to main content.

TSCA Interagency Testing Committee (ITC)

TSCA Training

View the 73rd Interagency Testing Committee Report. Learn more.

In 1976 under the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA), the U.S. Congress created the TSCA Interagency Testing Committee (ITC) as an independent advisory committee to the Administrator of the U.S. EPA. The ITC includes 14 U.S. Government Member organizations (see sidebar). The ITC was created to identify chemicals regulated by TSCA for which there are suspicions of toxicity or exposure and for which there are few, if any, ecological effects, environmental fate or health effects testing data. As mandated under section 4(e) of TSCA, the ITC must add these chemicals to the Priority Testing List and recommend them for testing or information reporting in May and November Reports to the Administrator (see sidebar). Chemicals are recommended for testing to meet the data needs of the ITC's 14 U.S. Government Member organizations. The ITC encourages producers and importers of recommended chemicals to voluntarily submit studies to meet these U.S. Government data needs. Since it's first meeting on February 5, 1977, the ITC has reviewed thousands of chemicals in its Reports (see sidebar).

In response to the ITC's recommendations, the U.S. EPA must promulgate TSCA section 8(a) Preliminary Assessment Information Reporting rules and TSCA section 8(d) Health and Safety Data Reporting rules, unless otherwise requested by the ITC (see side bars). In addition when the ITC designates chemicals for testing, the U.S. EPA Administrator is required under TSCA section 4(e)(1)(B) to publish Federal Register notices either to initiate proceeding under TSCA section 4(a) or to provide reasons for not doing so.

This power point presentation provides a summary of ITC's statutory responsibilities and activities.

Local Navigation

Jump to main content.