Jump to main content.

National Tribal Toxics Committee (NTTC)


As part of Administrator Jackson's priority to build strong tribal partnerships and expand the conversation on environmental justice, EPA has established the National Tribal Toxics Committee (NTTC), which gives tribes a forum for providing advice on the development of EPA’s chemical management and pollution prevention programs that affect them.

EPA believes that expanding tribal partnerships is important given the uniqueness of tribal cultures, communities, and environmental problems, and the need to respect tribal sovereignty, culture and heritage. The NTTC will help EPA better tailor and more efficiently address a variety of issues, including preventing poisoning from lead-based paint, expanding pollution prevention and safer chemical initiatives in Indian country, and better evaluating chemical exposures that may be unique to tribes and their members.

EPA's National Tribal Toxics Committee (NTTC) will hold its first meeting in Washington, D.C., June 1-2, 2011.

The committee members are:

Dianne Barton, The Columbia River Inter-Tribal Fish Commission (Oregon, EPA Region 10)
Fred Corey, Aroostook Band of Micmacs (Maine, EPA Region 1)
Jolene Keplin, Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa (North Dakota, EPA Region 8)
Mary Gorneau, Lower Brule Sioux Tribe (South Dakota, EPA Region 8)
Ryan Callison, Cherokee Nation (Oklahoma, EPA Region 6)
Steve Crawford, Passamaquoddy Tribe at Pleasant Point (Maine, EPA Region 1)
Mark Aaron, Salt River Pima Maricopa Indian Community (Arizona, EPA Region 9)
Jamie Donatuto, Swinomish Indian Tribal Community (Washington, EPA Region 10)
Christopher Horan, Salt River Pima Maricopa Indian Community (Arizona, EPA Region 9)
Kathleen Sloan, Yurok Tribe (California, EPA Region 9)
Gary Hay, Copper River Native Association (Alaska, EPA Region 10)
Lance Whitwell, Native Village of Venetie Tribal Government (Alaska, EPA Region 10)

The goal of the committee is to increase the already close collaboration and communication with federally recognized tribes and intertribal organizations on critical issues relating to chemical safety and pollution prevention that affect Native peoples.

Official NTTC Website hosted by the National Tribal Environmental Council Exit Disclaimer

Find more information on EPA's partnership with tribes

For more information contact:

Anna Kelso
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Office of Chemical Safety and Pollution Prevention (OCSPP)
1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20460
Email: Kelso.Anna@epa.gov
Phone: (202) 564-0645


Local Navigation

Jump to main content.