Jump to main content.

Mosquito Control and West Nile Virus


West Nile Virus is a continuing issue of concern across the U.S. In addition to EPA’s role in registering pesticides and providing information on mosquito control, information on this issue and on pesticide related topics is available from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the National Pesticide Information Center (NPIC).

The CDC has a comprehensive Web site about the West Nile Virus that provides many resources including preventive measures to follow and how to contact local and state authorities. Additionally, CDC offers information in Spanish about the West Nile Virus.

NPIC provides objective, science-based information about pesticides -- including mosquito repellents and insecticides that are used in controlling mosquitoes. NPIC also provides information on federal, state, and local mosquito control programs. Additionally, the NPIC web site offers a West Nile Virus Resource Guide Exit EPA disclaimer with information on West Nile Virus; contacts at local, state, and federal agencies; and maps and statistics.

Pesticides and Mosquito Control

Whenever you use an insect repellent such as DEET or an insecticide, be sure to carefully read and follow the manufacturer's DIRECTIONS FOR USE, as printed on the pesticide product label. If you have health-related questions or concerns about insect repellents or insecticide products used to control mosquitoes in and around the home, contact NPIC. Exit EPA disclaimer

EPA's Role in Mosquito Control - Provides additional information on pesticides used in mosquito control

Map of the US, split into EPA regions Region 1: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont Region 2: New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands Region 3: Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia Region 4: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee Region 5: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin Region 6: Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas Region 7: Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska Region 8: Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakaota, Utah, Wyoming Region 9: Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Pacific Islands Region 10: Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington

Top of page

Publications | Glossary | A-Z Index | Jobs

Local Navigation

Jump to main content.