Jump to main content.

The Mid-Atlantic Highlands

Additional Information About the Mid-Atlantic Highlands

The Mid-Atlantic Highlands encompass 79,000 square miles in the Central Appalachians of Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia. This region hosts some of the most diverse and globally important resources on Earth.  It is rich in natural and cultural heritage where the environment plays an important role in the quality of life.

The Potomac Highlands are considered to be a part of the Mid-Atlantic Highlands: the Potomac Watershed west of and above the fall line, plus the eight counties in the east central portion of West Virginia defined as the Potomac Highlands by the West Virginia Department of Commerce.

map of the Highlands in Md., Pa., Va., W.Va.


In 2002, Congress funded the Mid-Atlantic Highland Action Program.

On September 25, 2009, a Strategic Plan for the Mid-Atlantic Highlands was finalized. Its title -- "Protect, Restore, and Connect Forested Headwaters.”

Top of page

Mid-Atlantic Region || Mid-Atlantic Env'l Assessment & Innovation

Local Navigation

Jump to main content.