Jump to main content.


Mid-Atlantic Hydric Soils Committee

National Information
Mid-Atlantic State Information Exit EPA Disclaimer
Mid-Atlantic Wetland Workgroup Exit EPA Disclaimer

On this page

About the Committee

To standardize the study and identification of Hydric Soils, the Mid-Atlantic Hydric Soils Committee was created in March of 1996. The committee is made up of representatives from the state and federal agencies, educational institutions, and other organizations shown below in the committee members list. Members work together to pursue and identify important research needs and to establish a collection of information from which to better identify hydric soils in the field. Meetings are held twice a year and last for two days. Ad hoc meetings are also scheduled when needed. At our meetings, in addition to group discussion, we also try to spend a portion of our time in the field discussing the indicators and various sites of concern.

How to Join? Contact:

Carol Petrow (petrow.carol@epa.gov)
Office of Environmental Programs (3EA30)
Environmental Assessment & Innovation Division
US EPA Region 3
1650 Arch St.
Philadelphia, PA 19103
215-814-2789

Committee Members

Amanda Atwell (aatwell@cscos.com)
Environmental Scientist
C & S Companies
499 Col. Eileen Collins Blvd.
Syracuse, NY 13212
315-455-2000
Fax: 315-455-9667

Jared Beard (Jared.Beard@wv.usda.gov)
US Dept. of Agriculture - Natural Resources Conservation Service
223 North Main St.
Moorefield, WV 26836
304-530-2825

James Brewer (James.Brewer@md.usda.gov)
NRCS Resource Soil Scientist
USDA-NRCS
28577 Mary's Ct. Suite 3
Easton, Maryland 21601
410-822-1577 ext 121

Leander L. Brown (leander.brown@gnb.usda.gov)
East National Technology Support Center
2901 East Lee Street, Suite 2100
Greensboro, NC 27401
336-370-3335
Cell: 336-337-8698
Fax: 336-273-8132

Michael Callahan (mcallahan@rettew.com)
Rettew Associates, Inc.
3020 Columbia Avenue
Lancaster, PA 17603
717-394-3721
Fax: 717-394-1063

John D. Chibirka (john.chibirka@pa.usda.gov)
USDA-NRCS Resource Soil Scientist
1238 County Welfare Road, Suite 220
Leesport, PA 19533-0520
610-372-4655 x112
Fax: 610-371-8640

Greg Culpepper (gregory.d.culpepper@usace.army.mil)
US Army Corps of Engineers, Norfolk District
803 Front Street
Norfolk, VA 23510
757-876-2393
Fax: 757-201-7678

Daniel Fenstermacher (dfenster@umd.edu)
University of Maryland (student)
10403 Tullymore Drive
Adelphi, MD 20783
724-372-2894

John Galbraith (john.galbraith@vt.edu)
Virginia Polytechnic Institute
239 Smyth Hall (0404)
Blacksburg, VA 24061
540-231-9784
Fax: 540-231-7630

Greg Hammer (greg.hammer@va.usda.gov)
US Dept. of Agriculture - Natural Resources Conservation Service
203 Wimbledon La.
Smithfield, VA 23430
757-357-7004 x126
Cell: 804-683-4189

Rick Hertges (rickhertges@wvdhhr.org)
West Virginia Bureau for Public Health
1 Davis Square, Suite 200
Capitol & Washington Sts.
Charleston, WV 25301
304-558-8457
Fax: 304-558-0524

Michelle Hetu (michelle.hetu@gmail.com)
University of Maryland (Graduate Research Assistant)
1109 HJ Patterson Hall
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742
401-569-7460

Vera B. Jaffe (Vera.B.Jaffe@usace.army.mil)
US Army Corps of Engineers, Baltimore District Operations Division,
Regulatory Branch
10 South Howard Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
410-962-6144
Fax: 410-962-6024

Gary Jellick (Jellick-acorn@comcast.net)
Acorn Environmental, Inc.
708 Laurel La.
Severna Park, MD 21146
410-729-1470
Cell: 410-274-0622

R. Harold Jones (RHaroldJones@aol.com)
Sigma Environmental Services, Inc.
1513 Sandbridge Rd.
Virginia Beach, VA 23456
Cell: 757-615-9974
Fax: 757-426-5145

Phillip S. King (Phillipking@de.usda.gov)
Natural Resources Conservation Service
408 North DuPont Hwy., Suite C
Georgetown, DE 19947
302-856-3990 x126

Leyla E. Lange (llange@jmt.com)
Senior Environmental Scientist - Environment & Natural Resources
Johnson, Mirmiran & Thompson, Inc.
72 Loveton Circle
Sparks, MD 21152
410-316-2427
Fax: 410-472-3289

Jeffrey Lapp (lapp.jeffrey@epa.gov)
Office of Environmental Programs (3EA30)
Environmental Assessment & Innovation Division
US EPA Region 3
1650 Arch St.
Philadelphia, PA 19103
215-814-2717

Mark S. Mills (msmills@ptd.net)
CPSS
Soil Resources, Ltd.
P.O. Box 90098
Harrisburg, PA 17109-0098
717-652-4605
Fax: 717-652-4848

Ellen Mussman (emussman@straughanenvironmental.com)
Straughan Environmental, Inc.
10245 Old Columbia Road
Columbia, MD 21046
443-539-2532

David L. O’Brien (dobrien@vims.edu)
Virginia Institute of Marine Science
College of William and Mary
Center for Coastal Resources Management
P.O. Box 1346
Rt. 1208 Greate Rd.
Gloucester Point, VA 23062
804-684-7828
Fax: 804-684-7179

Carol Petrow (petrow.carol@epa.gov)
Office of Environmental Programs (3EA30)
Environmental Assessment & Innovation Division
US EPA Region 3
1650 Arch St.
Philadelphia, PA 19103
215-814-2789

Frank Plewa (Frank Plewa@usace.army.mil)
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Baltimore District, Enforcement Section
401 E. Louther Street
Suite 205
Carlisle, PA 17013
717-249-2522
Cell: (717) 919-5293

Martin Rabenhorst (mrabenho@umd.edu)
University of Maryland
Dept. of Environmental Science & Technology
H. J. Patterson Hall
Room 1112
College Park, MD 20742
301-405-1343
Cell: 301-873-5052
Fax: 301-405-5959

Al Rizzo (al_rizzo@fws.gov)
US Fish & Wildlife Service
177 Admiral Cochrane
Annapolis, MD 21502
410-573-4543
Cell: 302-245-2871
Fax: 410-269-0832

Carl Robinette (carl.robinette@md.usda.gov)
US Dept. of Agriculture - Natural Resources Conservation Service
12407 Naves Crossroads NE
Cumberland, MD 21502
301-777-1494 x107 or
800-384-8770 x622 or
443-757-0861 x622
Fax: 301-777-7632

Annie Rossi (arossi1@umd.edu)
Department of Environmental Science and Technology
1109 H.J. Patterson Hall
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742-2315
301-405-1302

Fred Schoenagel (fred.schoenagel@nj.usda.gov)
Soil Scientist
USDA-NRCS
54 Old Highway 22, Suite 201
Clinton, NJ 08809
908-735-0737 x106

Erik Severson (ersevers@vt.edu)
Virginia Polytechnic Institute
210 South Pepper Street
Christiansburg, VA 24073
540-381-7100 x124
Fax: 540-381-7108

Ralph Spagnolo (spagnolo.ralph@epa.gov)
US EPA Region 3 (3WP12)
Water Protection Division
1650 Arch St.
Philadelphia, PA 19103
215-814-2718
Fax: 215-814-2318

Steven Sprecher (steven.sprecher@ny.usda.gov)
Resource Soil Scientist
USDA-NRCS
11 Megan Drive, Suite 2
Geneseo, NY 14454
585-243-0043 x113
Cell: 585-519-9736
Fax: 585-243-0071

Rachael Stull (rachael.stull@va.usda.gov)
Soil Scientist
MLRA SS Project Leader (14-8)
USDA-NRCS
VA & NC Coastal Plain
1606 Santa Rosa Road, Suite 209
Richmond, VA 23229
804-287-1672
Cell: 804-356-2540
Fax: 804-287-1736

Mary Anne Thiesing (thiesing.mary@epa.gov)
US EPA Region 2
290 Broadway, 24th Floor
DEPP-WPB Wetlands Section
New York, NY 10007-1866
212-637-3818
Fax: 212-637-3889

Jeff Thompson (jthompson@mde.state.md.us)
Maryland Dept. of the Environment
Wetlands and Waterways Program
1800 Washington Blvd.
Suite 430
Baltimore, MD 21230
410-537-3828
Cell: 410-852-5801

Jim Thompson (James.Thompson@mail.wvu.edu)
West Virginia University
Division of Plant and Soil Sciences
PO Box 6108
Morgantown, WV 26506-6108
304-293-6023 x4348
Fax: 304-293-2960

Rob Tunstead (Rob.Tunstead@nj.usda.gov)
USDA-NRCS
MLRA Soil Survey Office 13-7 Leader
858 S White Horse Pike, Suite 3
Hammonton, NJ 08037
609-561-3223 x107
Cell: 609-453-4374
Fax: 609-561-2765

Joseph A. Valentine (vasoils@verizon.net)
1830 Walnut Lane
Quakertown, PA 18951-2020
267-784-6873

Bruce Vasilas (bvasilas@udel.edu)
University of Delaware
Department of Plant and Soil Sciences
Townsend Hall
Newark, DE 19717
302-831-1391
Fax: 302-831-0605

Lenore Vasilas (Lenore.vasilas@wdc.usda.gov)
Soil Survey Division
US Dept. of Agriculture - Natural Resources Conservation Service
Room 4250
South Building
14th & Independence Ave., SW
Washington, DC 20250
202-720-8692

Mike Vesprsakas (Michael_Vepraskas@ncsu.edu)
North Carolina State University
Dept. of Soil Science
Box 7619
Raleigh, NC 27695
919-515-1458
Fax: 919-515-2167

Top of page


You will need the free Adobe Reader to view these files. See EPA's PDF page to learn more.

A soil sample taken from the surface horizon of a glauconitic soil. The soil meets the color criteria of Indicator F6 (Redox Dark Surface) because of the dark greenish black color of the glauconite combined with the redox concentrations.

Field Indicators Books to Download

Mid-Atlantic Hydric Soils

Hydric Soils of the United States

Top of page


Mid-Atlantic Region || Mid-Atlantic Env'l Assessment & Innovation || Mid-Atlantic Wetlands


Local Navigation


Jump to main content.