Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Region 2

Serving New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands and Eight Tribal Nations

Region 2 Indian Program

St. Regis Mohawk Tribe Fish Adviseries (Nov 2013) [PDF 1.9 MB, 7 pp]

Hurricane Sandy Sampling Results for Drinking Water Wells on Shinnecock National Lands [PDF 26K, 1 pp] 

The Region 2 Indian Program is located in the Office of the Regional Administrator, Office of Strategic Programs.  The program works with the 8 Federally recognized Indian Nation governments throughout New York State to implement the Agency's 1984 EPA Indian Policy [PDF 200 KB, 4 pp] and to protect the ecosystems, human health, and cultural resources of Indian country.  The program has an Indigenous Environmental Affairs Coordinator (Regional Indian Coordinator) that acts as liaison to all eight nations, assists with regional consultation matters, and manages General Assistance Program grants.  The program also assists in the coordination of environmental programmatic matters pertaining to the eight nations and assists the Region 2 Programs in working on a government-to-government basis with the nations. Through these activities, Region 2 strives to strengthen its relationship with the nations in accordance with EPA policies, laws and regulations, and in recognition of the treaties between the United States and the Indian nations. 

The program also has a Regional Indian Work Group (RIWG) that is chaired by the Indigenous Environmental Affairs Coordinator and is comprised of designated members from each Region 2 Division.  RIWG members serve as the primary representative for each Division and assist with Indian program priorities such as preparing for the annual Indian Nation Leaders Meeting, and monitoring action items from any meetings with Indian nations throughout the year.  RIWG members also serve as media program representatives who support the priorities of the tribal program in accordance with the EPA Indian Policy and interact directly with the nations on addressing environmental or public health related matters.

The eight Indian nations are:

  • Cayuga Nation
  • Onondaga Nation
  • Oneida Indian Nation
  • St. Regis Mohawk Tribe
  • Seneca Nation Of Indians
  • Shinnecock Indian Nation
  • Tonawanda Seneca Nation ("Tonawanda Band Of Seneca")
  • Tuscarora Nation


Jump to main content.