Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Region 2

Serving New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands and Eight Tribal Nations.

No Discharge Zone Map - Jamaica Bay, NY

Jamaica Bay - click to enlargeThe Jamaica Bay No Discharge Zone covers an area of proximately 20,000 acres of open water, upland islands and salt marshes. It is bounded on the west and northwest by Brooklyn, on the north and northeast by Queens. The northeastern and southeastern corners of the Bay are bordered by Nassau County. The northern shore of the Rockaway Peninsula, a part of Queens, forms the southern boundary. Eight tributaries empty into Jamaica Bay — Sheepshead Bay, Paerdegat Basin, Fresh Creek, Hendrix Creek, Spring Creek, Shellbank Basin, Bergen Basin, and Thurston Basin

For information about pumpouts please visit the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (NYSDEC) web site. Click icon for EPA disclaimer.

Federal Register

View in Google Earth [KMX 2.9 MB]. KMZ files can be viewed in the free downloadable verion of Google Earth Exit EPA Disclaimer



Jump to main content.