Jump to main content.


Water Experts

Other Resources

For a listing of all ORC employees, consult the ORC Staff Directory

If you know who you wish to contact, you may look them up in the EPA Employee Directory.

Region 5 Experts List

Primary Responsibilities:

Primary ORC Liaison:

Jane Lupton (lupton.jane@epa.gov) 312-886-2238

Backup ORC Liaison:

Stephen Mendoza (mendoza.stephen@epa.gov)

Each entry below lists the designated expert first; alternates follow.

Acts, generally:
Clean Water Act (CWA) Jane Lupton (first) (lupton.jane@epa.gov) 312-886-2238
Gary Prichard (prichard.gary@epa.gov) 886-0570
Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA) Robert H. Smith (smith.roberth@epa.gov) 312-886-0765
Joanna Glowacki (glowacki.joanna@epa.gov) 312-353-3757
CWA : Specific Topics
Areawide Treatment Management (CWA § 208) Nicole Cantello (cantello.nicole@epa.gov) 886-2870
Bypasses and Overflows
(Combined Sewer Overflows (CSOs); Sanitary System Overflows (SSOs))
Gary Prichard (prichard.gary@epa.gov) 312-886-0570
Deborah Carlson (carlson.deboraha@epa.gov) 312-353-6121
Susan Perdomo (perdomo.susan@epa.gov) 312-886-0557
Nicole Cantello (cantello.nicole@epa.gov) 312-886-2870
Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations (CAFOs)
Robert Thompson (thompson.robertl@epa.gov) 312-353-6700
Luis Oviedo (oviedo.luis@epa.gov) 312-353-9538
Michael Berman (berman.michael@epa.gov) 312-886-6837
Cooling Water Intake Structures (Riverkeeper) ( Section 316b) Robert Thompson (thompson.robertl@epa.gov) 312-353-6700
Discharges, Thermal (Section 316a) Robert Thompson (thompson.robertl@epa.gov) 312-353-6700
Grants Projects/Reviews Puja Lakhani (lakhani.puja@epa.gov) 312-353-3190
National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES)

- Permits (CWA § 402) Gary Prichard (prichard.gary@epa.gov) 312-886-0570
- Phase II Issues Barbara Wester (wester.barbara@epa.gov) 312-353-8514
Oil and Hazardous Substances (CWA § 311) Richard Clarizio (clarizio.richard@epa.gov) 312-886-0559
Randa Bishlawi (bishlawi.randa@epa.gov) 312-886-0510
Pretreatment Robert Guenther (guenther.robert@epa.gov) 312-886-0566
Sewage Sludge Robert Thompson (thompson.robertl@epa.gov) 312-353-6700
Storm Water Nicole Cantello (cantello.nicole@epa.gov) 886-2870
Gary Prichard (prichard.gary@epa.gov) 886-0570
Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDL) (CWA § 303) Craig Melodia (melodia.craig@epa.gov) 312-353-8870
Gaylene Vasaturo (vasaturo.gaylene@epa.gov) 312-886-1811
Vessels Nicole Cantello (cantello.nicole@epa.gov) 886-2870
Water Quality Standards Gary Prichard (prichard.gary@epa.gov) 312-886-0570
Wetlands (dredging/filling) (CWA § 404) Jeff Trevino (trevino.jeffery@epa.gov) 312-886-6729
John Steketee (steketee.john@epa.gov) 312-886-0558
Thomas Martin (martin.thomas@epa.gov) 886-4273
Diana Embil (embil.diana@epa.gov) 312-886-7889
Great Lakes: Issues and Topics
Great Lakes Critical Programs Act (GLCPA, with GLNPO for R5 issues) Gary Prichard (prichard.gary@epa.gov) 312-886-0570
Thomas Martin (martin.thomas@epa.gov) 312-886-4273
Great Lakes Legacy Act Richard Nagle (nagle.richard@epa.gov) 312-353-8222
Susan Prout (prout.susan@epa.gov) 312-353-1029
Craig Melodia (melodia.craig@epa.gov) 312-353-8870
SDWA : Specific Topics:
Grants Projects/Reviews Puja Lakhani (lakhani.puja@epa.gov) 312-353-3190
Interstate Carrier Conveyances Joanna Glowacki (glowacki.joanna@epa.gov) 312-353-3757
Public Water Supply (PWS) Joanna Glowacki (glowacki.joanna@epa.gov) 312-353-3757
Robert H. Smith (smith.roberth@epa.gov) 312-886-0765
Underground Injection Control (UIC) Robert H. Smith (smith.roberth@epa.gov) 312-886-0765
Maria Gonzalez (gonzalez.maria@epa.gov) 312-886-6630
UIC Permits Thomas Krueger (krueger.thomas@epa.gov) 312-886-0562
James Morris (morris.james@epa.gov) 312-886-6632
Erik Olson (olson.erik@epa.gov) 312-886-6829

Top of page


Local Navigation


Jump to main content.