Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

EPA's Region 6 Office

Serving: Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, and 66 Tribal Nations

24 Hour Non-Compliance Reporting

Clean Water Act - NPDES 24 Hours Non-compliance Reporting

This page is to be utilized for making 24-Hour reports to EPA in compliance with reporting requirements in your NPDES permit. E-mail may substitute oral reporting for the purposes of 24-Hour reporting, but does not meet the requirements to report violations in writing. Most permits require a 24-Hour report followed by a written report within five days. Please consult your permit for specific requirements. At a minimum, the written report shall include an NPDES permit number; certification [40 CFR 122.22(d)] by an authorized official [40 CFR 122.22(a)]; description of the non-compliance; date, time and duration of the non-compliance; any environmental impacts; and remediation actions taken to protect the environment.

Individual Permittees

NPDES requirements for Individual Permits often require permittees to report non-compliance that may endanger health or the environment such as unanticipated bypasses or upsets which exceed an effluent limit, violations of a daily maximum limit for any pollutants (usually in Part III of your permit) to be reported within 24 hours. The report may be either on telephone to (214)665-6595 or by E-mail to r6_npdes_reporting@epa.gov. Please make sure to include:

  • Your Name,
  • NPDES permit Number,
  • Telephone Number,
  • and any information required by your permit for 24-hour reporting.

Off Shore General Permittees

NPDES requirements for General Permits often require permittees to report non-compliance to the General Permit noncompliance reporting hotline. The report may be either on telephone to (214) 665-6593 or by E-mail to r6genpermit@epa.gov Please make sure to include:

  • Your Name,
  • Telephone Number,
  • Company Name,
  • NPDES permit number
    • (and lease block name and outfall/discharge number if applicable),
  • Description of the Non-compliance
  • Date and Time of Occurrence
  • Duration or anticpated time of continuation,
  • Cause of Violation,
  • Any Corrective Ations Taken,
  • and any information required by your permit.

Generaic Non-compliance Report Form (PDF)

Any other violations should be reported to the Water Enforcement Branch in accordance with permit requirements by telephone at (214) 665-7521 or by E-mail to: johnsey.paulette@epa.gov.

Jump to main content.