Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Region 7 Air Program

Serving Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska and 9 Tribal Nations

Voluntary Ozone Reduction Council

When U.S. EPA adopted a revised set of air quality standards for ozone in 1997, the change meant that many areas throughout the United States that previously met the standards might not meet the new, more protective standards.

From a technical perspective, it was decided that all the areas in Region 7 that had air quality monitors would be analyzed to see which geographic locations might not meet the new standards. The analysis revealed three locations: Wichita, Kansas; Springfield, Missouri, and the Quad Cities area of Iowa and Illinois.

Representatives from each of these areas expressed an interest to join forces to identify and implement practices that could reduce ozone, and possibly enable the areas to remain in attainment by meeting the new standards. The Voluntary Ozone Reduction Council (VORC) was formed and included representatives from the cities identified, as well as pollution control officials from the state governments, the U.S. Department of Transportation and other interested areas including Cedar Rapids and Des Moines, Iowa, Lawrence, Kansas, and Omaha Nebraska. Representatives from Kansas City and St. Louis also joined the Consortium to share their experiences and expertise with regard to reducing ozone.

The Council is facilitated by a representative of the Air, Planning and Development Branch. The Council has monthly conference calls to share information with regard to transportation planning, new rules that EPA announces and any subject that affects air quality and is of interest to participating members.

For more information about these areas, please contact Joshua Tapp, Chief, Air Planning and Development Branch, at (913) 551-7606 or tapp.joshua@epa.gov or explore the links below. Exit EPA Click for Disclaimer

About Region 7

Jump to main content.