Jump to main content.

EJ Goals & Objectives

Internal Implementation

The Region 7 Environmental Justice Program will support EPA HQ in the development of National Environmental Justice Guidance while providing interim guidance to the region. The EJ Program will also provide introductory EJ Training to all regional staff as well as stakeholders upon request. A part of the training will be reviewing guidance and implementation tools such as GIS (Geographic Information Systems).

Back to top
Coordination with States & Tribal Nations

The EJ Program will continue to seek opportunities to impact State programs and their commitment to ensuring environmental justice. These opportunities may be State Director's Meetings, input on State Grants, providing technical support at State regulated EJ sites, and through the State/Tribal EJ Grants Program.

EPA consists of four Regional States and nine Tribal Nations.


Prairie Band of Potawatomi Tribe
Kickapoo Tribe in Kansas
Sac & Fox Tribe in Missouri
Iowa Tribe of Kansas and Nebraska
Sac & Fox Tribe of Mississippi in Iowa: Meskwaki Nation
Omaha Tribe of Nebraska
Winnebago Tribe of Nebraska
Santee Sioux Tribe of Nebraska
Ponca Tribe of Nebraska

Back to top

Coordination with Federal Partners
The following links are connected to non-EPA sites.

Under Executive Order 12898, the following Federal Agencies, along with the EPA, Environmental Protection Agency, have responsibilities to ensuring environmental justice for all people regardless of race, national origin, or income.

The EJ Program will continue to seek opportunities to work with other federal agencies in the mission of ensuring environmental justice. We will continue to coordinate with other federal agencies to address EJ issues and to invite them to participate in regional education and outreach events.

Back to top

"To the greatest extent practicable and permitted by law, and consistent with the principles set forth in the report on the National Performance Review, each Federal Agency shall make achieving environmental justice part of its mission by identifying and addressing as appropriate, disproportionately high and adverse human health and environmental effects of its programs, policies, and activities on minority populations and low income populations..."

Presidential Executive Order 12898

Liaison to Headquarters & Stakeholders

Coordination and communication with EPA Headquarters and other stakeholders remain an ongoing program responsibility. The EJ Program participates in monthly conference calls and produces regional updates to headquarters in order to maintain the flow of communication.

The National Environmental Justice Advisory Council (NEJAC) is one mechanism of communication between EPA Headquarters and public stakeholders. The NEJAC is a federal advisory committee that was established on September 30, 1993, to provide independent advice, consultation, and recommendations to the Administrator to the U.S. EPA on matters related to environmental justice.


Past NEJAC Meeting Summaries

Future NEJAC Meetings

The NEJAC is made up of six subcommittees: air and water; enforcement; health and research; indigenous peoples; international; and waste and facility siting. The NEJAC Council and subcommittees are selected and appointed by EPA and serve over 50 posts from all across the region.

Back to top

Local Navigation

Jump to main content.