Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Region 1: EPA New England

About the EPA New England Pesticide Program...

The EPA has ten Regional Offices that serve as liaisons between Headquarters, which is responsible for registering pesticide products, and the individual states, which have primary responsibility for regulating pesticide use. Region 1 includes the six New England states: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont. Regions help implement Headquarters policies and initiatives, but also have other responsibilities and develop and implement their own regional priorities. EPA has cooperative agreements with the State Lead Agencies for pesticide regulation. A primary function of the Regions is to provide technical and financial assistance to the states. The States are responsible for enforcing federal and state pesticide laws and certifying pesticide applicators. The Region's pesticide program also supports work to protect agricultural workers, prevent pollution of ground water resources, protect endangered species, promote integrated pest management (IPM), and reduce the risks from and use of pesticides. The program provides pesticide information to public interest groups, academia, the regulated community, and the general public.


Jump to main content.