Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Region 1: EPA New England

Contacts


EPA New England Tribal Contacts

Regional Tribal Operations Committee (RTOC) Contacts List, 01/03/2014 (PDF) (2 pp, 398 K, about PDF)

EPA New England Tribal Staff

Address:
EPA New England
5 Post Office Square, Suite 100
(insert Mail Code here)
Boston, MA 02109-3912

Lois Adams (adams.lois@epa.gov)
Branch Chief
(Mail Code: OEP06-2)
T: 617-918-1591
F: 617-918-0591

Michael Stover (stover.michael@epa.gov)
Regional Indian Program Manager
(Mail Code: OEP06-3)
T: 617-918-1123
F: 617-918-0123

Michael Ochs (ochs.michael@epa.gov)
Indian Program Specialist
(Mail Code: OEP06-2)
T: 617-918-1066
F: 617-918-0066

Donna Smith-Williams (smith.donna@epa.gov)
Indian Program Specialist
(Mail Code: OEP06-3)
T: 617-918-1620
F: 617-918-0620

Kwabena Kyei-Aboagye (kyei-aboagye.kwabena@epa.gov)
Environmental Protection Specialist
(Mail Code: OEP06-2)
T: 671-918-1609
F: 617-918-0609

William Nuzzo (nuzzo.william@epa.gov)
Indian Program Specialist
(Mail Code: OEP06-3)
T: 617-918-1682
F: 617-918-0682

Grants

Stacey Pridgeon-Johnson (johnson.stacey@epa.gov)
GAP Program Lead, OECA, and Healthy Communities Program
(Mail Code: OEP06-3)
T: 617-918 -1552
F: 617-918-0552

Diane Culhane (culhane.diane@epa.gov)
Grants Management Office
(Mail Code: OARM16-2)
T: 617-918-1975
F: 617-918-0975

 

EPA New England Tribal Coordinators

EPA Tribal Coordinators for the following federally recognized Tribes - listed in the order of their federal recognition dates

Narragansett Indian Tribe Coordinator
Ellie Kwong (kwong.ellie@epa.gov)
(Mail Code: OEP06-2)
T: 617-918-1592
F: 617-918-0592

Aroostook Band of Micmacs Coordinator
Donna Smith-Williams (smith.donna@epa.gov)
(Mail Code: OEP06-3)
T: 617-918-1620
F: 617-918-0620

Passamaquoddy P.P. Coordinator
Michael Ochs (ochs.michael@epa.gov)
Indian Program Specialist
(Mail Code: OEP06-2)
T: 617-918-1066
F: 617-918-0066

Passamaquoddy Tribe of Indians Indian Township Reservation Coordinator
William Nuzzo (nuzzo.william@epa.gov)
(Mail Code: OEP06-3)
T: 617-918-1682
F: 617-918-0682

Penobscot Indian Nation Coordinator
Donna Smith-Williams (smith.donna@epa.gov)
(Mail Code: OEP06-3)
T: 617-918-1620
F: 617-918-0620

Wampanoag Tribe of Gayhead (Aquinnah) Coordinator
William Nuzzo (nuzzo.william@epa.gov)
(Mail Code: OEP06-3)
T: 617-918-1682
F: 617-918-0682

Mashantucket Pequot Indian Nation Coordinator
Tim Bridges (bridges.tim@epa.gov)
(Mail Code: EQA)
T: 617-918-8603
F: 617-918-0603

Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians Coordinator
Kwabena Kyei-Aboagye (kyei-aboagye.kwabena@epa.gov)
(Mail Code: OEP06-2)
T: 671-918-1609
F: 617-918-0609

Mohegan Tribe Coordinator
Ellen Weitzler (weitzler.ellen@epa.gov)
(Mail Code: OEP06-2)
T: 617-918-1582
F: 617-918-0582

Mashpee Wampanoag Coordinator
Kwabena Kyei-Aboagye (kyei-aboagye.kwabena@epa.gov)
(Mail Code: OEP06-2)
T: 671-918-1609
F: 617-918-0609

Top of Page


EPA New England Contacts by Media

Air
The Tribes in Region 1 have a robust air monitoring program primarily focused on long-term air quality impacts to their ecosystems. Several of these efforts include providing air quality data for acid and mercury depositions, fine particulate speciation data (through the IMPROVE Program) and ozone data. These data will provide the tribes with a database to ascertain long-term understanding of the impacts on subsistence hunting and fishing. The Aroostook Band of Micmacs established a real time air monitoring station that provides current air quality data on the internet. The Wampanoag's air monitoring program is measuring levels above the national ambient air quality standards for ozone which show potential adverse health impacts to the tribal population. Several studies are being performed to identify toxins in fish tissue as a screening to determine if additional air deposition data is warranted.

Eugene Benoit (benoit.eugene@epa.gov) - Tribal air monitoring programs
Phone: 617-918-1656
Fax: 617-918-0656

Alan Van Arsdale (vanarsdale.alan@epa.gov) - monitoring support (technical)
Phone: 617-918-8610
Fax: 617-918-8510

Water

Drinking Water
EPA New England provides technical assistance to the tribes of New England on many drinking water issues. The region develops annual monitoring schedules for the tribes and receives all of the data. These reports are reviewed for compliance for both the number of monitoring samples and their results and then are recorded in a regional tracking system and the Safe Drinking Water Information System. In addition, the region provides guidance on general compliance, notifies tribal systems of regulatory issues, and coordinates with the Office of Environmental Stewardship on violations and corrective actions. EPA New England also conducts sanitary surveys at the tribal systems, coordinates with the Indian Health Service to ensure priority areas are addressed, supports the State Revolving Fund program on tribal drinking water projects, and assists on grants and cooperative agreements.

Mark Sceery (sceery.mark@epa.gov) - Tribal Drinking Water Coordinator
Phone: 617 918-1559

Jeff Butensky (butensky.jeff@epa.gov)
Phone: 617 918-1665

Water Quality
Diane Switzer serves as the Regional Monitoring Coordinator overseeing monitoring and assessment program strategy development and implementation, and also as the Regional 305(b) Coordinator coordinating biennial water quality inventory reports to Congress. As the Ecology Monitoring Team Lead in EPA's Office of Environmental Measurement and Evaluation, she coordinates requests for EPA's assistance with water monitoring projects.

Diane Switzer (switzer.diane@epa.gov) - Regional Monitoring Coordinator, Regional 305(b) Coordinator, Ecology Monitoring Team Lead
Phone: 617 918-8377
Fax: 617 918-8277

Sandra Brownell (brownell.sandra@epa.gov) - clean water act (CWA) 106
Phone: 617-918-1797
Fax: 617-918-0797

Water Quality Standards (WQS)
Ralph Abele (abele.ralph@epa.gov) - acting WQS Branch chief
Phone: 617-918-1629
Fax: 617-918-0629

Ellen Weitzler (weitzler.ellen@epa.gov) - WQS
Phone: 617-918-1568
Fax: 617-918-0568

Beth Edwards (edwards.beth@epa.gov) - non-point source (NPS) 319 
Phone: 617-918-1840
Fax: 617-918-0840

Jennie Bridge (bridge.jennie@epa.gov) - total maximum daily load (TMDL)
Phone: 617-918-1685
Fax: 617-918-0865

Solid Waste
The RCRA solid waste staff provides oversight and technical assistance to help the tribes develop and implement solid waste management plans and programs. We also provide assistance to solve persistent problems such as abandoned white goods and vehicles.

Juiyu Hsieh (hsieh.juiyu@epa.gov) - Solid Waste
Phone: 617-918-1646
Fax: 617-918-0646

Office of Regional Counsel
The Office of Regional Counsel (ORC) provides legal advice to the Region's Tribal Program and other environmental program offices handling matters in Indian country in New England. This advice bears on topics ranging from the jurisdictional provisions in the settlement acts applicable to certain Tribes to the nature and extent of the Agency's trust responsibility to the Tribes. ORC represents the Region, with the Department of Justice, in any litigation involving Indian law issues, for example the recent case of Maine v. Johnson involving the State of Maine's authority under the Maine Indian Claims Settlement Act to implement the NPDES permitting program under the Clean Water Act. Working with the Region's Tribal Program and the relevant environmental program office, ORC plays a large role in evaluating applications from Tribes for treatment in the same manner as a state to receive EPA grants or to implement regulatory programs under EPA's statutes.

ORC Tribal Contact - Tim Williamson (williamson.tim@epa.gov)
Phone: 617-918-1099
Fax: 617-918-0099

Enforcement & Compliance Assurance
Susan Studlien (studlien.susan@epa.gov) (temporary)
Phone: 617-918-1701
Fax: 617-918-0701

Quality Management/Assurance
Patrice A. Svetaka (svetaka.pat@epa.gov) - Quality Management plans (QMPs)
Phone: 617-918-8396
Fax: 617-918-0396

Steve DiMattei (dimattei.steve@epa.gov) - Quality Assurance Project Plans (QAPPs)
Phone: 617-918-8369
Fax: 617-918-0369

Top of Page


Tribal Contacts (map)

The following are contacts to federally recognized Tribes - listed in the order of their federal recognition dates

Tribes Located within Connecticut

Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Nation
Mohegan Tribe

Tribes Located within Maine

Aroostook Band of Micmacs
Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians
Passamaquoddy Tribe of Indians, Indian Township Reservation
Passamaquoddy Tribe of Indians, Pleasant Point Reservation
Penobscot Indian Nation

Tribes Located within Massachusetts

Mashpee Wampanoag Tribal Council
Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head (Aquinnah)

Tribe Located within Rhode Island

Narragansett Indian Tribe


Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Nation Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Nation

Rodney Butler
Chairman

Richard E. Sebastian
Vice Chairman

Natural Resources Protection & Regulatory Affairs
550 Trolley Line Blvd - P.O. Box 3202
Mashantucket, CT 06338-3202
T: 860-396-6740
F: 860-396-6745
http://www.mptn-nsn.gov Click icon for EPA disclaimer. 


Environmental Contacts:
* Michael Boland (mboland@MPTN.org)
Director Natural Resources Protection
P.O. Box 3202
Mashantucket, CT 06338-3202
T: 860-396-6740



Click for Tribe locator map.
Back to List of Tribes

Mohegan Tribe Mohegan Tribe

Bruce Boszum
Chairman

James Gessner, Jr.
Vice Chairman

William Quidgeon
Council Member

Mohegan Tribal Office
5 Crow Hill Road
Uncasville, CT 06382
T: 860-862-6112
F: 860-862-6129
http://www.mohegan.nsn.us Click icon for EPA disclaimer. 


Environmental Contacts:

Jean McInnis (jmcinnis@moheganmail.com), CHMM
Environmental Protection Administrator
Mohegan Tribe of Indians of CT
5 Crow Hill Road
Uncasville, CT 06382
T: 860-862-6112
F: 860-862-6199
Cell: 860-367-1817



Paul Sturges
Director of Compliance and Regulation

Click for Tribe locator map.
Back to List of Tribes

Aroostook Band of Micmacs Aroostook Band of Micmacs

Edward (Charlie) Peter Paul
Chief

Jennifer Kiandoli
Vice Chief

7 Northern Road
Presque Isle, ME 04769
T: 207-764-1972
F: 207-764-7768
http://www.micmac-nsn.gov Click icon for EPA disclaimer. 


Environmental Contacts:
* Fred Corey (fcorey@micmac-nsn.gov)
Environmental Director
8 Northern Road
Presque Isle, ME 04769
T: 207-764-7765



David Macek (dmacek@micmac-nsn.gov)
Environmental Specialist
8 Northern Road
Presque Isle, ME 04769

Click for Tribe locator map.
Back to List of Tribes

Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians

Brenda Commander
Chief

88 Bell Road
Littleton, ME 04730
T: 207-532-4273 or 800-545-8524
F: 207-532-6883
http://www.maliseets.com Click icon for EPA disclaimer. 


Environmental Contacts:
Susan Young (ogs1@maliseets.com)
Natural Resources Director

* Sharri Venno (envplanner@maliseets.com)
Environmental Planner
T: 207-532-4273 x215
F: 207-532-6883



Matthew Edberg (timber@maliseets.com )
Natural Resources Specialist

Cara O’Donnell (water@maliseets.com )
Water Resources Specialist
T: 207-532-4273 x212

Click for Tribe locator map.
Back to List of Tribes

Passamaquoddy Tribe of Indians Indian Township Reservation Passamaquoddy Tribe, Indian Township

Joseph Socobasin
Tribal Chief/Governor

Clayton Sockabasin
Lt. Governor

PO Box 301
Princeton, ME 04668
T: 207-796-2301
F: 207-796-5256
http://www.passamaquoddy.com Click icon for EPA disclaimer. 


Environmental Contacts:
Trevor White (trevorenv@myfairpoint.net)
Acting Environmental Director
T: 207-796-2677



Darrin Coffin (darrincoffin@passamaquoddy.com)
Tribal Bookkeeper
T: 207-796-2301 x204
F: 207-796-2420

 

Click for Tribe locator map.
Back to List of Tribes

Passamaquoddy Tribe of Indians Pleasant Point Reservation Passamaquoddy Tribe, Pleasant Point

Reuben Clayton Cleaves
Tribal Chief

Kenneth Poynter
Lt. Governor

PO Box 343
Perry, ME 04667
T: 207-853-2600
F: 207-853-6039
http://www.wabanaki.com Click icon for EPA disclaimer. 


Environmental Contacts:
* Marvin Cling (marvin@wabanaki.com)
Environmental Planner
T: 207-853-2600 x234

Dale Mitchell (dalem@wabanaki.com)
Water Quality Technician
T: 207-853-2600 x245



Ed Bassett (edb@wabanaki.com)
Environmental Technician
T: 207-853-2600 x255

Karen Neptune (karen.neptune@yahoo.com)
Water Quality Technician
T: 207-853-2600 x237

 

Click for Tribe locator map.
Back to List of Tribes

Penobscot Indian Nation Penobscot Indian Nation

Kirk Francis
Chief

Bill Thompson
Vice Chief

Penobscot Indian Nation
12 Wabanaki Way
Indian Island, ME 04468
T: 207-827-7776 (Main office)
F: 207-827-1137
http://www.penobscotnation.org Click icon for EPA disclaimer. 


Environmental Contacts:
* John Banks (john.banks@penobscotnation.org)
Director of Natural Resources
T: 207-817-7330

Daniel Kusnierz (dan.kusnierz@penobscotnation.org)
Water Resources Manager
T: 207-817-7361



Bill Thompson (bill.thompson@penobscotnation.org)
Air Program Manager
T: 207-817-7340

Angie Reed (angie.reed@penobscotnation.org)
Water Resources Planner
T: 207-817-7360

Click for Tribe locator map.
Back to List of Tribes


Mashpee Wampanoag Tribal Council Mashpee Wampanoag Tribal Council

Cedric Cromwell
Tribal Chairman
766 Falmouth Rd.
Mashpee, MA 02649

Aaron Tobey
Tribal Vice Chairman
766 Falmouth Rd
Mashpee, MA 02649

Natural Resources Department

Quan Tobey (qtobey@mwtribe.com)
Director
Office Address: 766 Falmouth Rd. - Unit A7 Mailing Address: 483 Great Neck Rd. South
Mashpee, MA 02649
T: 508-419-6017 ext. 603

George (Chuckie) Green (cgreen@mwtribe.com)
Deputy Environmental Director
Office Address: 766 Falmouth Rd. - Unit A7
Mailing Address: 483 Great Neck Rd. South
Mashpee, MA 02649
T: 508-419-6017 ext. 601

 

483 Great Neck Road, South
Mashpee, MA 02649
T: 508-477-0208
F: 508-477-1218
www.mashpeewampanoagtribe.com Click icon for EPA disclaimer. 

Click for Tribe locator map.
Back to List of Tribes

Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head (Aquinnah) Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head (Aquinnah)

Cheryl Andrews-Maltais
Chairperson

20 Black Brook Road
Aquinnah, MA 02535
T: 508-645-9265
F: 508-645-3233
http://www.wampanoagtribe.net Click icon for EPA disclaimer. 


Environmental Contacts:
* Bret Stearns (bstearns@wampanoagtribe.net)
Director of Natural Resources
T: 508-645-9265 x141

 



Andrew Jacobs (ajacobs@wampanoagtribe.net)
Bay Scallop Coordinator
T: 508-645-9265 x145

 

Click for Tribe locator map.
Back to List of Tribes

Narragansett Indian Tribe Narragansett Indian Tribe

Matthew Thomas
Chief Sachem

Jonathan Montey
First Councilman

PO Box 268
Charlestown, RI 02813
T: 401-364-1100
F: 401-364-6432
http://www.narragansett-tribe.org Click icon for EPA disclaimer. 


Environmental Contacts:
* Dinalyn Spears (dspears@nitribe.org)
Director of Natural Resources
T: 401-364-1100 x210

Greg Soder (gsoder@nitribe.org)
Environmental Resource Manager
T: 401-364-1100 x226



Thawn Harris (tharris@nitribe.org)
Environmental Police Officer
T: 401-364-1100 x217

Tribal Historic Preservation Officer (brwnjbb123@aol.com)
215 Fenner Hill Road
Hopkinton, RI 02382
T: 401-491-9459

Click for Tribe locator map.
Back to List of Tribes

* R-TOC: Primary Environmental Contact

Top of Page

Jump to main content.