Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Region 1: EPA New England

2000 Environmental Merit Award Recipients

This award, part of our Earth Day 2000 celebration, enables us to recognize the individuals, government agencies, businesses, and advocacy groups who have committed their time and energy to improve the quality of life and natural environment for those of us who live and work here in New England.

This year's winners include:

Arthur "Gene" Billings (deceased) of Norfolk, Conn.

Lisa Brukilacchio of Somerville, Mass.

Paul Donnelly of Taunton, MA

David Dow of East Falmouth, MA

Ross Gelbspan of Brookline, MA

Roberta Hazen Aaronson of Providence, RI

Dave Monk, Salt Pond Coalition, Charlestown, RI

Ali Noorani of Boston, MA

Richard Reibstein of Boston, MA

Jonathan Twining of Quincy, MA

Alexander Washburn & Catherine Brandt of East Greenwich, RI

Mary Ellen Welch of East Boston, MA

State Air Offices in Connecticut, Rhode Island and Massachusetts

Barnstable County Health Department and Burlington Board of Health

Eco-2000 in Danbury, Conn.

Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection, Western Regional Office

NEWMOA's Technology Review Committee Western Regional Office

NEMO Team at University of Connecticut Cooperative Extension

Sharri Venno, Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians

Town of Wakefield, MA

Mayor A. Ralph Mollis and the Woonasquatucket River Management Action Committee

MCI-WorldCom, Friends of Forest Beach and Town Officials in Chatham, MA

14 StarTrack Participants

Advocates for the Preservation and Protection of the Shepaug River, CT

The Androscoggin Valley Council of Governments, Auburn, ME

Steve Babbitt and the Friends of Lynn Woods, Lynn, MA

College of the Atlantic, Bar Harbor, ME

Connecticut River Watch Program, Middletown, CT

Grow Smart Rhode Island, Providence, RI

Kennebec Coalition, Augusta, ME

Lake Champlain Citizen Advisory Committees - Vermont, New York, Quebec

Lakes Environmental Association, Bridgton, ME

Lake Parker Association, West Glover, VT

McKin Superfund Site Citizens Advisory Group & the Ad Hoc Property Owners Group for the McKin Superfund Site, Gray, ME

Merrimack River Watershed Council, Lawrence, MA

Silent Spring Institute, Newton, MA

Jump to main content.