Jump to main content.


Hartford Area Hydrocarbon Plume Site

Site Information
  • Hartford, IL (Madison County)
Contact Information

Community Involvement Coordinator
Teresa Jones
(jones.teresa@epa.gov)
312-886-0725

On-Scene Coordinators
Steve Faryan (faryan.steven@epa.gov)
312-353-9351

Kevin Turner (turner.kevin@epa.gov)
618-997-0115

Illinois EPA Community Relations Coordinator
Mara McGinnis (mara.mcginnis@epa.state.il.us)
217-524-3288

Illinois EPA Collinsville Regional Office, Manager
Chris Cahnovsky (chris.cahnovsky@epa.state.il.us)
618-346-5120

Illinois EPA Project Manager
Tom Miller
(tom.miller@illinois.gov)
618-346-5120

Illinois Department of Public Health
Edwardsville Regional Office
618-656-6680
Environmental Toxicologists
Cathy Copley (ccopley@idph.state.il.us)
Dave Webb (dwebb@idph.state.il.us)

Repositories

(where to view written records)

Hartford Public Library
143 W. Hawthorne
Hartford, IL 62048
(618) 254-9394

Hours:
Monday-Thursday 12-6 pm
Friday-Saturday 12-4 pm
Closed Sunday

You will need the free Adobe Reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA's PDF page to learn more.

August 2014 Update

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency is overseeing several oil companies while they clean up gasoline pollution lying beneath the village of Hartford. The oil companies are both removing gasoline and studying the most effective ways of eliminating more. A vapor removal system was installed in the village for that purpose. The Hartford Working Group, or HWG, is the name of the three oil companies that installed the vapor system and currently runs it. In-home monitoring performed by a fourth oil company, Apex Oil, also verifies residents are safe from fumes. Apex is the company responsible for designing the final cleanup plan.

Legal Agreements

Public Meetings

Photos

Some wells like this one have already been installed in Area A, where the test pumping will be done.

Some wells like this one have already been installed in Area A, where the test pumping will be done.

The shaded area on this map shows where EPA will conduct testing to clean up gasoline that is trapped underground.

The shaded area on this map shows where EPA will conduct testing to clean up gasoline that is trapped underground.

 


Local Navigation


Jump to main content.