Jump to main content.

Dayton Power & Light J.M. Stuart Station

Site Information
  • Aberdeen, OH (Adam County)
Contact Information

Press Officer
Peter Cassell (cassell.peter@epa.gov)
312-886-6234 or 800-621-8431, ext. 66234

Water Division
Sean Ramach (ramach.sean@epa.gov)
312-886-5284 or 800-621-8431, ext. 65284


(where to view written records)

EPA Region 5 Office
Chicago, IL (contact Sean Ramach to make an appointment)


Dayton Power & Light’s J.M. Stuart Station is a 4 unit, coal fired power plant with a generating capacity of 2,400 megawatts. The facility is located on State Route 52, 4 miles east of Aberdeen, Ohio.  The facility discharges to Little Threemile Creek, Buzzard’s Roost Creek and the Ohio River. 

On Sept. 29, 2010, U.S. EPA objected to Ohio’s draft wastewater discharge permit for the Dayton Power & Light’s J.M. Stuart Power Station.  U.S. EPA objected because the permit record did not demonstrate that the temperature limits in Ohio EPA’s proposed permit would adequately protect aquatic life in Little Threemile Creek. U.S. EPA held a public hearing on the issue on March 23, 2011, in Georgetown, Ohio. On September 28, 2011, U.S. EPA notified Ohio EPA that the objection was upheld and required Ohio EPA to submit a revised permit within 30 days.

Ohio EPA submitted a proposed permit addressing the U.S. EPA objection and in December 2012, U.S. EPA withdrew its objection, clearing the way for the State to issue the permit on Jan. 7, 2013. The final permit and response to comments is available at Ohio EPA's website at: http://www.epa.ohio.gov/dsw/permits/DPAL.aspx


You will need the free Adobe Reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA's PDF page to learn more.


Top of page

Local Navigation

Jump to main content.