Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

EPA's Region 6 Office

Serving: Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, and 66 Tribal Nations

Community Development Block Grant

The Department of Commerce, Office of Urban Development administers the Federal Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) program for non-metropolitan counties. Approximately $10 million is available every year to local governments for housing and community development needs. The purpose of the CDBG Program is to "develop viable communities by providing decent housing, suitable living environment and expanding economic opportunities for persons of low to moderate income."

The CDBG program is available only in non-metropolitan areas of the State; however, non-profit entities, special districts, unincorporated communities and private-for-profit entities can receive CDBG funds to implement a proposed activity, but only through a city, town or county.
Eligible Activities

  • Develop and upgrade basic infrastructure such as streets, water and waste water systems
  • Improve housing stock by rehabilitating existing homes or supporting new housing development
  • Construct or renovate community facilities such as parks and centers that serve seniors, youth or the homeless
  • Assist business to expand by creating or retaining jobs through loans or infrastructure improvements
  • Removal of archtectural barriers for the handicapped
  • Fire protection
  • Parking facilities

Since 1982 when the Department of Commerce began to administer the States CDBG program it has awarded over $100 million in grants to local governments.

For more information, send inquires to Rhonda Smith at smith.rhondar@epa.gov

Jump to main content.