Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

EPA's Region 6 Office

Serving: Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, and 66 Tribal Nations

Air Nonattainment Area Redesignations

Section 107(d)(3) of the Clean Air Act specifies procedures and requirements for redesignation of a nonattainment area to attainment for a national ambient air quality standard. These conditions include:
  • national ambient air quality standard has been attained.
  • the area has a fully approved implementation plan under Section 110(k) of the CAA.
  • A determination has been made that the improvement in air quality is due to permanent and enforceable reductions in emissions.
  • An approvable maintenance plan has been submitted as specified under Section 175A. This demonstration of maintenance includes continued ambient monitoring, retention of current control strategies, an emissions budget, and contingency measures to be implemented should the area experience future air quality problems.
  • All applicable requirements have been met under Section 110, concerning general SIP requirements, and Part D, concerning nonattainment plans.

Current Status:

Region 6 has redesignated the following areas to attainment for national ambient air quality standards since 1990:
1-hour ozone NAAQS: Victoria County
1997 8-hour ozone NAAQS: Beaumont/Port Arthur area (Hardin, Jefferson, and Orange Counties)
1978 lead NAAQS: Collin County
1971 carbon monoxide NAAQS: El Paso County

1-hour ozone NAAQS: - the parishes of Beauregard, Grant, Lafayette, Lafourche, St. James, St. Mary, Jefferson, Orleans, St. Charles, and St. Bernard, Pointe Coupee, and Calcasieu.
1997 8-hour ozone NAAQS: Baton Rouge area

1997 8-hour ozone NAAQS: Crittenden County

New Mexico
1971 sulfur dioxide NAAQS: Grant County
1971 carbon monoxide NAAQS: Albuquerque/Bernalillo County

Section Chief - Guy Donaldson (214) 665-7242; E-Mail: Donaldson.guy@epa.gov

Section address:
U.S. EPA Region 6, 6PD-L
1445 Ross Avenue
Dallas TX 75202-2733

Jump to main content.