Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

EPA's Region 6 Office

Serving: Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, and 66 Tribal Nations

Region 6 Memorandum of Understanding

The Environmental Protection Agency in Region 6 developed several Memorandum of Understandings (MOUs) to identify partnerships and collaborations with the entities listed below. The MOUs constitute an understanding between the parties; however, they are a non-binding agreement. Please click on the university name to learn more about each MOU.

Perot Museum of Nature and Science (2013)
Texas Southern University
1890 Land Grant Universities - including Arkansas Pine Bluff, Prairie View A&M, Langston University, Southern University (2012)
Texas A&M University Kingsville - involving Region 6 and the Office of Water
Xavier University – involving both Regions 6 and 9
University of Texas at El Paso(2007)

Perot Museum of Nature and Science (2013)

The RSC is excited to announce the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the Perot Museum of Nature and Science. The event took place Wednesday June 26, 2013 when Sam Coleman, Deputy Regional Administrator for EPA's Region 6, and Nicole Small, CEO of the Perot Museum of Nature and Sciencemet to sign the MOU. This MOU created a partnership that will encourage education and outreach. If you have questions about this MOU, please contact Angela Restivo.

Sala Senkayi, Angela Restivo, Lucy hale, Nicole Small, and Sam Coleman pose in front of the EPA and Region's state flags. am Coleman and Nicole Small sign the MOU.

Sala Senkayi, Angela Restivo, Lucy Hale, Nicole Small, and Sam Coleman pose in front of the EPA flag and Region 6's state flags. Sam Coleman and Nicole Small sign the MOU.

1890 Land Grant Universities

U.S. EPA and U.S. Department of Agriculture signs Memorandum of Understanding with 1890 Land Grant Universities in Region 6.

Former Administrator Lisa P. Jackson of The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and Secretary Thomas J. Vilsack of U.S. Department of Agriculture signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) with 1890 Land grant universities on June 29th, 2012 in order to build a cooperative working relationship to promote equal opportunity in higher education, provide technical assistance in the form of teaching, research, outreach, extension, and public service and encourage the participation of students, staff, and faculty in USDA and EPA programs and workforce diversity.

Background: USDA's (National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) provides support to Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) that were designated as Land-Grant Universities in the Second Morrill Act in 1890. Therefore EPA is seeking partnerships with academic institutions of higher learning serving under-represented communities to develop well-qualified and competitive graduates who are interested in environmental careers.

Purpose: The implementation of the MOU's objectives will advance EPA and USDA-NIFA partnerships with the Minority Academic Institution (MAI) program.

The 1890 Land-Grants are located in Region 6 and consist of the following Universities:

  • University of Arkansas Pine Bluff
  • Langston University
  • Prairie View A&M University
  • Southern University

Jump to main content.