Region 8


Federal regulations require permits for stormwater discharges associated with industrial activityconstruction projects disturbing more than one acre of land) and Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4s). These permits require controls on storm water discharges, primarily through the use of best management practices, designed to reduce the transport of pollutants in storm water to waters of the United States.

EPA Region 8 is the permitting authority for stormwater discharges on:

1. Federal facilities in Colorado

2. Indian country in Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming

For all other areas in the Region, the appropriate State is the NPDES permitting authority (see "Regional & State Contacts" link).