Jump to main content.

Panel Formation Process

Section 25(d) of the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act (FIFRA) describes the Scientific Advisory Panel (SAP) as a permanent panel consisting of 7 members who are appointed by the Administrator of EPA from nominations provided by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Science Foundation (NSF). Members serve staggered terms of appointment, generally of 4 to 6 years duration. When a vacancy occurs on the panel due to expiration of a term, resignation, or any other reason, a replacement is appointed after receiving nominees from NIH and NSF.

Section 104 of the Food Quality Protection Act of 1996 (FQPA) amended FIFRA 25(d) establishing a Science Review Board (known as the FQPA SRB) consisting of scientists who are available to the FIFRA SAP on an ad-hoc basis to assist in reviews conducted by the Panel. FQPA SRB members provide additional scientific expertise to augment the knowledge-base of the FIFRA SAP. Nominations of FQPA SRB members are provided by a number of sources including: the general public in response to a request for nominations published in the Federal Register notice announcing the FIFRA SAP meeting; members of the FIFRA SAP Permanent Panel; staff of Agency Program Offices; scientists already nominated; professional/scientific societies; and other identifiable stakeholder community representatives. FQPA SRB members are selected by the Agency's Designated Federal Official, in consultation with the FIFRA SAP Executive Secretary and the Deputy Ethics Official for EPA's Office of Science Coordination and Policy.

More information on the panel formation process (PDF) (16 pp, 104K, About PDF)

Local Navigation

Jump to main content.