Jump to main content.


Brownfields Tax Incentive State Contacts

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
D.C.
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas

Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina

North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Puerto Rico
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming

Alabama

Mr. William Gerald Hardy
Chief, Land Division
AL Department of Environmental Management
P.O. Box 301463
Montgomery , AL 36130-1463
(334) 271-7730
Fax: (334) 279-3050
Email: William Gerald Hardy (wgh@adem.state.al.us)

Alaska

Mr. John B. Carnahan
Contaminated Sites Program
ADEC Spill Prevention and Response
610 University Avenue
Fairbanks, Alaska 99709
(907) 451-2166
Fax: (907) 451-2155
Email: John B. Carnahan (John_Carnahan@dec.alaska.gov)

Arizona

Ms. Juli Boles
Manager, Brownfields Program
Arizona Department of Environmental Quality
1110 West Washington Street
Phoenix , AZ 850107
(602) 771-4170
Fax: (602) 771-2383
Email: Juli Boles (boles.juli@azdeq.gov)

Arcelious Stephens
Brownfields Coordinator, Brownfields Program
Arizona Department of Environmental Quality
1110 West Washington Street
Phoenix, AZ 850107
(602) 771-4401
Fax: (602) 771-2383
Email: Arcelious Stephens (Stephens.Arcelious@azdeq.gov)

Arkansas

Ms. Terry Sligh
Arkansas Brownfields Program
Brownfields Coordinator
Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality
P.O. Box 8913
Little Rock , AR 72219-8913
(501) 683-0822
Fax: (501) 683-0565
Email: Terry Sligh

California

Ms. Janet Naito
CA Department of Toxic Substances Control
700 Heinz Avenue, Suite 200
Berkeley, CA 94710
(510) 540-3833
Email: Janet Naito (jnaito@dtsc.ca.gov)

Ms. Lynn Nakashima
CA Department of Toxic Substances Control
700 Heinz Avenue, Suite 200
Berkeley, CA 94710
(510) 540-3839
Email: Lynn Nakashima (lnakashi@dtsc.ca.gov)

Colorado

Mr. Dan Scheppers
Brownfields Coordinator
CO Department of Public Health and Environment
Hazardous Materials and Waste Management Division
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver , CO 80246-1530
(303) 692-3398
Fax: (303) 759-5355
Email: Dan Scheppers (daniel.scheppers@state.co.us)

Connecticut

Ms. Christine A. Lacas
Supervising Environmental Analyst
State of Connecticut Department of Environmental Protection
79 Elm Street
Hartford, CT 06106-5127
(860) 424-3766
Fax: (860)424-4057
Email: Christine A. Lacas (christine.lacas@po.state.ct.us)

D.C.

Mr. James P. Sweeney, Chief
Land Remediation and Development Branch District of Columbia Department of the Environment
51 N Street, NE, Sixth Floor
Washington , DC 20024
(202) 535-2289

Delaware

Mr. Robert Newsome
Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
391 Lukens Drive
New Castle, DE 19720
(302) 395-2600
Fax: (302) 395-2601
Email: Robert Newsome (robert.newsome@state.de.us)

Florida

Ms. Kim Walker
Florida Brownfields Program Manager
Florida Department of Environmental Protection
2600 Blair Stone Road, MS 4505
Tallahassee , FL 32399-2400
(850) 245-8934
Email: Kim Walker (kim.walker@dep.state.fl.us)

Georgia

Mr. Darren Meadows
Legal Assistant
GA Department of Natural Resources
Environmental Protection Division
Suite 1462
Hazardous Waste Management Branch
205 Butler Street, SE
Atlanta , GA 30334
(404) 657-8600
Fax: (404) 657-0307
Email: Darren Meadows (darren_meadows@gadnr.org)

Hawaii

Mr. Davis Bernstein
Hawaii Department of Health, Hazard Evaluation and Emergency Response
919 Ala Moana Boulevard
Room 206
Honolulu, HI 96814
(808) 586-4651
Fax: (808) 586-7537
Email: Davis Bernstein (davis.bernstein@doh.hawaii.gov)

Idaho

Mr. Aaron Scheff
Brownfields Response Program Manager
Idaho Dept. of Environmental Quality
1410 N. Hilton
Boise, ID  83702
(208) 373-0420
Fax: (208) 373-0154
Email: Aaron Scheff (aaron.scheff@deq.idaho.gov)

Illinois

Mr. Gary King
Manager, Division of Remediation Management
Illinois EPA, Bureau of Land
1021 North Grand Avenue East
Springfield, IL  62794-9276
(217) 782-0245
Fax: (217) 557-4231
Email: Gary King (Gary.King@illinois.gov)

Indiana

Ms. Michele Oertel
EPA/Community Liaison & Outreach Coordinator
Indiana Brownfields Program
100 N. Senate Avenue
Room 1275
Indianapolis, IN  46204
(317) 234-0235
(800) 451-6027 ext. 40235
Fax: (317) 234-1338
Email: Michele Oertel (moertel@ifa.IN.gov)
www.brownfields.IN.gov

Iowa

Mr. Mel Pins
Iowa Brownfield Redevelopment Program
Iowa Department of Natural Resources
502 E. 9th St.
Des Moines , IA 50319
(515) 281-8489
Fax: (515) 281-8895
Email: Mel Pins (mel.pins@dnr.iowa.gov)

Kansas

Mr. Rick Bean
Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Bureau of Environmental Remediation
Forbes Fields, Building 740
Topeka, KS 66620-0001
(785) 296-1675
Fax: (785) 296-7030
Email: Rick Bean (rbean@kdhe.state.ks.us)

Kentucky

Mr. Herb Petitjean
KY Division of Compliance Assistance
14 Reilly Road
Frankfort, KY 40601-1190
(502) 564-0323
Fax: (502) 564-9720
Email: Herb Petitjean (herb.petitjean@ky.gov)

Louisiana

Mr. Roger Gingles
LA Department of Environmental Quality
Remediation Services Division
P.O. Box 82178
Baton Rouge , LA 70884
(225) 765-0333
Fax: (225) 765-0617
Email: Roger Gingles (rogerg@la.gov)

Maine

Mr. Nicholas J. Hodgkins
Voluntary Response Action Program Coordinator
ME Department of Environmental Protection
Bureau of Hazardous Materials & Solid Waste Control
State House Station 17
Augusta , ME 04333-0017
(207) 287-2651
Fax: (207) 287-7826
Email: Nicholas J. Hodgkins (nick.hodgkins@maine.gov)

Maryland

Mr. James W. Metz
Chief, Voluntary Cleanup/Brownfields Division Maryland Department of the Environment
1800 Washington Boulevard Suite 625
Baltimore , MD 21230
(410) 537-3493
Fax: (410) 537-3472
Email: James W. Metz (jmetz@mde.state.md.us)

Massachusetts

Ms. Catherine Finneran
BF Coordinator
MA Department of Environmental Protection
1 Winter Street
Boston , MA 02108
(617) 556-1138
Fax: (617) 292-5530
Email: Catherine Finneran (catherine.finneran@state.ma.us)

Michigan

Mr. Ron Smedley
Brownfield Redevelopment Coordinator
Michigan Department of Natural Resources and Environment
525 West Allegan
4th Floor South
Lansing, MI 48933
Phone: 517-373-4805
Email: Ron Smedley (smedleyr@michigan.gov)

Minnesota

Ms. Shanna Schmitt
Project Leader
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
Voluntary Investigation and Cleanup Unit
Remediation Division
520 Lafayette Road
St. Paul , MN 55155-4194
(612) 297-1459
Fax: (612) 296-9707
Email: shanna.schmitt (shanna.schmitt@state.mn.us)

Mississippi

Mr. Jerry B. Banks
Chief, Hazardous Waste Division
MS Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Pollution Control
P.O. Box 10385
Jackson , MS 39204-0385
(601) 961-5221
Fax: (601) 961-5349
Email: Jerry B. Banks (jerry_banks@deq.state.ms.us)

Missouri

Mr. Jim Belcher
Chief, Brownfields/Voluntary Cleanup Section
Missouri Department of Natural Resources
P.O. Box 176
Jefferson City , MO 65102
(573) 526-8913
Fax: (573) 526-8922
Email: Jim Belcher (jim.belcher@dnr.mo.gov)

Montana

Mr. Jason Seyler
Brownfields/VCRA/CALA Coordinator
Montana Department of Environmental Quality
Site Response Section
P.O. Box 200901
Helena, MT 59620-0901
(406) 841-8071
Fax: (406) 841-5050
Email: Jason Seyler (jseyler@mt.gov)

Nebraska

Mr. Mike Felix
Remediation Section
Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality
1200 N Street
The Atrium Building, Suite 400
Lincoln, NE 68509-8922
(402) 471-2938
Fax: (402) 471-2909
Email: Mike Felix (mike.felix@nebraska.gov)

Nevada

Ms. Lisa Johnson, CEM, CHMM
Brownfields Program Manager
Division of Environmental Protection
Nevada Department of Conservation & Natural Resources
901 S. Stewart Street, Suite 4001
Carson City, NV  89701
(775) 687-9379
Fax: (775) 687-5856
Email:  Lisa Johnson (l_johnson@ndep.nv.gov)

New Hampshire

H. Keith Dubois, P.G.
Brownfields Program Coordinator
Hazardous Waste Remediation Bureau
New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services
6 Hazen Drive
P.O. Box 95
Concord , NH 03302
(603) 271-2987
Fax: (603) 271-2181
Email:   Keith Dubois (Keith.Dubois@des.nh.gov)

New Jersey

Mr. Ken Kloo
Chief, Office of Brownfield Reuse Bureau
NJ Department of Environmental Protection
P. O. Box 402
Trenton, NJ 08625-0402
(609)292-1251
Email: Ken Kloo (kloo.ken@dep.state.nj.us)

New Mexico

Mr. Alex Puglisi
Remediation Oversight Manager
New Mexico Environmental Dept.
Voluntary Remediation Program, Ground Water Quality Bureau
P.O. Box 5469
Santa Fe , NM 87502-5469
(505) 827-2754
Fax: (505) 827-2965
Email: Christine Bynum (chris_bynum@nmenv.state.nm.us)

New York

Ms. Karen Diligent
Environmental Program Specialist
NY State Department of Environmental Conservation
625 Broadway
Albany, NY 12233-7012
(518) 402-9711
Fax: (518) 402-9722
Email: Karen Diligent (kbdilige@gw.dec.state.ny.us)

North Carolina

Mr. Jack R. Butler
Chief, Superfund Section
NC Department of Environment and Natural Resources
Superfund Section
P.O. Box 29603
401 Oberlin Road
Raleigh , NC 27611
(919) 733-2801
Fax: (919) 733-4811
Email: Jack R. Butler (butlerjr@wastenot.ehnr.state.nc.us)

North Dakota

Mr. Curt Erickson
North Dakota Department of Health
Division of Waste Management
918 East Divide Avenue
P.O. Box 5520
Bismarck , ND 58506-5520
(701) 328-5166
Fax: (701) 328-5200
Email: Curt Erickson (cerickso@state.nd.us)

Ohio

Mr. Sydney Poole
Supervisor, Voluntary Action Program
Ohio EPA - DERR
50 West Town St. Suite 700
P.O. Box 1049
Columbus , OH 43216-1049
614-644-3751
Email: Sydney Poole (sydney.poole@epa.state.oh.us)

Oklahoma

Ms. Rita R. Kottke
Senior Environmental Specialist / Brownfield Coordinator
OK Department of Environmental Quality
Waste Management Division
P.O. Box 1677
707 N. Robinson
Oklahoma City , OK 73101-1677
(405) 702-5127
Fax: (405) 702-5101
Email: Rita R. Kottke (rita.kottke@deqmail.state.ok.us)

Ms. Patricia Billingsley
Brownfields
Pollution Abatement Department
O & G Division
Oklahoma Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 52000-2000
Oklahoma City , OK 73152-2000
(405) 522-2758
Fax: (405)522-0757
Email: Patricia Billingsley (p.billingsley@occemail.com)

Mr. Jeff Meyers
Grants Manager
Pollution Abatement Department
Oklahoma Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 52000-2000
Oklahoma City, OK 73152-2000
(405) 522-2781
Fax: (405) 552-0757
Email: Jeff Meyers (j.meyers@occemail.com)

Ms. Renee´┐Ż Genise Hood, MPH
Environmental Director
Absentee Shawnee Tribe of Oklahoma
2025 S. Gordon Cooper Drive
Shawnee, OK 74801
(405) 273-9966
Fax: (405)273-9865
Email: Renee' Genise Hood (reneeh@astribe.com)

Bobby Short
Environmental Specialist III, REM
ITEC/Cherokee
P.O. Box 948
Tahlequah, OK 74465-0948
(918) 453-5089
Fax: (918) 822-2774
Bobby Short(bob-short@cherokee.org)
Alt. contact: Sheila Sevenstar (918) 453-5108
Email: Sheila Sevenstar(sheila0sevenstar@cherokee.org)

Oregon

Mr. Gil Wistar
OR Department of Environmental Quality
811 SW 6th Avenue
Portland, OR 97204
(503) 229-5512
Fax: (503) 229-6954
Email: Gil Wistar (wistar.gil@deq.state.or.us)

Pennsylvania

Mr. Dave Crownover
PA DEP Land Recycling Program
P.O.Box 8471
Harrisburg, PA 17105-8471
(717)783-7502
Email:Dave Crownover (dcrownover@state.pa.us)

Puerto Rico

Mr. Miguel Maldonado
417 Ponce de Leon Avenue
2nd Floor, #226
Hato Rey , PR 00917
(787) 767-8181

Rhode Island

Ms. Angela Shulman
Assistant Administrator Officer
RI Department of Environmental Management
Office of Waste Management
235 Promenade Street
Providence, RI 02908
(401) 222-2797
Fax: (401) 222-2017
Email: Angela Shulman (angela.shulman@dem.ri.gov)

South Carolina

Mr. Keith Lindler
Director, Site Assessment and Remediation
SC Department of Health and Environmental Control
Bureau of Land and Waste Management
2600 Bull Street
Columbia, SC 29201
(803) 896-4052
Fax: (803) 896-4001
Email: Keith Lindler (lindlejk@dhec.sc.gov)

South Dakota

Kim McIntosh
South Dakota Department of Environment and Natural Resources
Joe Foss Building
523 East Capitol
Pierre, SD 57501
(605) 773-3296
Fax: (605) 773-6035
Email: Kim McIntosh(kim.mcintosh@state.sd.us)

Tennessee

Mr. Andy Shivas
Program Manager
TN Department of Environment and Conservation
Division of Superfund
401 Church Street
4th Floor, L & C Annex
Nashville, TN 37243-1538
(615) 532-0912
Fax: (615) 532-0938
Email: Andy Shivas (andy.shivas@state.tn.us)

Texas

Ms. Christine Whitney
Brownfields Program Manager
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
P.O. Box 13087
Austin , TX 78711-3087
(512) 239-0843
Email: Christine Whitney (cwhitney@tceq.state.tx.us)

Aimee Beveridge
Voluntary Cleanup Section
Site Remediation Section
Railroad Commission of Texas
1701 N. Congress
P.O. Box 12967
Austin, TX 78711-2967
(512) 463-7995
Fax: (512) 463-7328
Email: Aimee Beveridge (aimee.beveridge@rrc.state.tx.us)
Alt contact: Bryon Ellington P.G.
(512) 463-5983

Utah

Mr. Bill Rees
Utah Department of Environmental Quality
168 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City , UT 84116
(801) 536-4167
Fax: (801) 536-4242
Email: Bill Rees (brees@utah.gov)

Vermont

Mr. George Desch
Chief, Sites Management Division
VT Agency of Natural Resources
Department of Environmental Conservation
103 South Main Street
Waterbury , VT 05671-0404
(802) 241-3491
Fax: (802) 241-3296
Email: George Desch (georged@anr.state.vt.us)

Virginia

Mr. Thomas Modena
Program Manager
VA Department of Environmental Quality
629 E. Main Street
Richmond , VA 23219
(804) 698-4183
Fax: (804) 698-4234
Email: Thomas Modena (tdmodena@deq.virginia.gov )

Washington

Mr. John Means M.E.S., C.P.M.
Brownfields Grant Manager and Program Planner
Washington State Department of Ecology
Toxic Cleanup Program, Headquarters
PO Box 47600
Olympia, WA 98504-7775
360/407-7188
Fax: 360/407-7154
Email: John Means (jmea461@ecy.wa.gov)

West Virginia

Mr. Ken Ellison
Chief
WV Division of Environmental Protection
Office of Waste Management
Site Investigation and Response Section
1356 Hansford Street
Charleston , WV 25301
(304) 558-5929
Fax: (304) 558-0256
Email: Ken Ellison (ken.ellison@wv.gov)

Wisconsin

Ms. Melissa Enoch
Bureau for Remediation and Redevelopment
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
P.O. Box 7921
Madison, WI 53707
Ph: 608-266-9263
Fax: 608-267-767646
Email: Melissa Enoch (Melissa.Enoch@wisconsin.gov)

Wyoming

Ms. Vickie Meredith
Brownfields Coordinator
Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality
Hazardous Waste Permitting and Corrective Action Program
510 Meadow View Drive
Lander, WY 82520
(307) 335-6948
Fax: (307) 332-7726
Email: Vickie Meredith (vmered@wyo.gov)

Please email comments on this website to:Brownfields-Web-Comments@epamail.epa.gov


Local Navigation


Jump to main content.