Jump to main content.


Compilation of Area Source Rules

MACT
SUBPART
AREA
SOURCE
NESHAP
STANDARD
TITLE V
PERMIT
REQUIREMENT1
BROCHURE OTHER
IMPLEMEN-
TATION
TOOLS
OAQPS
(Project)
Contact
OECA
(Compliance)
Contact
 
Delegated authority/local compliance contacts: To find your delegated authority, please contact your Regional representative at this link: http://www.epa.gov/ttn/atw/area/regional_contacts.pdf. Some state contacts are listed in the Table of Specific State Contacts (Word format), or if not listed, find your State representative through the map search at this link: http://www.4cleanair.org/contactUsaLevel.asp Please note that every agency on the state/local website or the Table of Specific State Contacts, has not necessarily taken delegation of the area source program. Please check with the EPA regional representatives for clarification and to determine your State contact.
 
AREA SOURCES WITH SPECIFIC DEADLINES UNDER COURT ORDER
BBBBBB Gasoline Distribution Bulk Terminal, Bulk Plant and Pipeline Facilities
Exempt
Andrea Siefers
siefers.andrea@epa.gov
Maria Malave
malave.maria@epa.gov
CCCCCC Gasoline Distribution, Gasoline Dispensing Facilities
Exempt
Andrea Siefers
siefers.andrea@epa.gov
Maria Malave
malave.maria@epa.gov
HH Oil and Natural Gas Production
Exempt
--
--
Greg Nizich
nizich.greg@epa.gov
Scott Throwe
throwe.scott@epa.gov
WWWWW National Emission Standards for Hospital Ethylene Oxide Sterilizers
Exempt
--
Hillary Ward
ward.hillary@epa.gov
Scott Throwe
throwe.scott@epa.gov
ZZZZ Reciprocating internal combustion engines (RICE) - NEW
Exempt
--
Melanie King
king.melanie@epa.gov
Sara Ayres
ayres.sara@epa.gov
ZZZZ Reciprocating Internal Combustion Engines - Existing Compression Ignition
Exempt
--
--
Melanie King
king.melanie@epa.gov
Sara Ayres
ayres.sara@epa.gov
ZZZZ Reciprocating Internal Combustion Engines - Existing Spark Ignition
Exempt
--
--
Melanie King
king.melanie@epa.gov
Sara Ayres
ayres.sara@epa.gov
 
SOURCE CATEGORIES PROMULGATED UNDER DECEMBER 15, 2006 DEADLINE
DDDDDD PVC & Copolymer Production
Exempt
--
--
Sharon Nizich
nizich.sharon@epa.gov
Scott Throwe
throwe.scott@epa.gov
EEEEEE Primary Copper Smelting
Required
--
--
Sharon Nizich
nizich.sharon@epa.gov
Scott Throwe
throwe.scott@epa.gov
FFFFFF Secondary Copper Smelting
Required
--
--
Sharon Nizich
nizich.sharon@epa.gov
Scott Throwe
throwe.scott@epa.gov
GGGGGG Primary Nonferrous Metal
Required
--
--
Sharon Nizich
nizich.sharon@epa.gov
Scott Throwe
throwe.scott@epa.gov
 
SOURCE CATEGORIES PROMULGATED UNDER JUNE 15, 2007 DEADLINE
LLLLLL Acrylic/Modacrylic Fibers Production
Exempt
--
--
Sharon Nizich
nizich.sharon@epa.gov
Scott Throwe
throwe.scott@epa.gov
MMMMMM Carbon Black Production
Required
--
--
Sharon Nizich
nizich.sharon@epa.gov
Scott Throwe
throwe.scott@epa.gov
NNNNNN Chromium Compounds
Y
--
--
Sharon Nizich
nizich.sharon@epa.gov
Scott Throwe
throwe.scott@epa.gov
OOOOOO Flexible Polyurethane Foam Fabrication and Production
Exempt
Sharon Nizich
nizich.sharon@epa.gov
Scott Throwe
throwe.scott@epa.gov
PPPPPP Lead Acid Battery Manufacturing
Exempt
--
Sharon Nizich
nizich.sharon@epa.gov
Scott Throwe
throwe.scott@epa.gov
QQQQQQ Wood Preserving
Exempt
Sharon Nizich
nizich.sharon@epa.gov
Scott Throwe
throwe.scott@epa.gov
 
SOURCE CATEGORIES PROMULGATED UNDER DECEMBER 15, 2007 DEADLINE
HHHHHH Paint Stripping Operations, Misc. Surface Coating, Autobody Refinishing
Exempt
Kim Teal
teal.kim@epa.gov
Marcia Mia
mia.marcia@epa.gov
RRRRRR Clay Ceramics Mfg
Exempt
--
  TBD - Contact Region 4
SSSSSS Pressed & Blown Glass Manufacturing.
Required
--
Susan Fairchild
fairchild.susan@epa.gov
TBD - Contact Region 4
TTTTTT Secondary Non-Ferrous Metals
Exempt
--
Susan Fairchild
fairchild.susan@epa.gov
TBD - Contact Region 4
YYYYY Stainless and Non-stainless Steel Manufacturing (EAFs)
Required
--
Donnalee Jones
jones.donnalee@epa.gov
Maria Malave
malave.maria@epa.gov
ZZZZZ Iron and Steel Foundries
Exempt
--
  Maria Malave
malave.maria@epa.gov
 
SOURCE CATEGORIES PROMUGATED UNDER JUNE 15, 2008 DEADLINE
WWWWWW Plating and Polishing
Exempt
Donnalee Jones
jones.donnalee@epa.gov
Scott Throwe
throwe.scott@epa.gov
XXXXXX Metal Fabrication and Finishing: Electrical and Electronic Equipment Manufacturing
Exempt
Donnalee Jones
jones.donnalee@epa.gov
Rafael Sanchez
sanchez.rafael@epa.gov
XXXXXX Metal Fabrication and Finishing: Fabricated Metal Products
Exempt
Donnalee Jones
jones.donnalee@epa.gov
Rafael Sanchez
sanchez.rafael@epa.gov
XXXXXX Metal Fabrication and Finishing: Fabricated Plate Work (Boiler Shops)
Exempt
Donnalee Jones
jones.donnalee@epa.gov
Rafael Sanchez
sanchez.rafael@epa.gov
XXXXXX Metal Fabrication and Finishing: Fabricated Structural Metal Manufacturing
Exempt
Donnalee Jones
jones.donnalee@epa.gov
Rafael Sanchez
sanchez.rafael@epa.gov
XXXXXX Metal Fabrication and Finishing: Heating Equipment, Except Electric
Exempt
Donnalee Jones
jones.donnalee@epa.gov
Rafael Sanchez
sanchez.rafael@epa.gov
XXXXXX Metal Fabrication and Finishing: Industrial Machinery and Equipment Manufacturing
Exempt
Donnalee Jones
jones.donnalee@epa.gov
Rafael Sanchez
sanchez.rafael@epa.gov
XXXXXX Metal Fabrication and Finishing: Iron and Steel Forging
Exempt
Donnalee Jones
jones.donnalee@epa.gov
Rafael Sanchez
sanchez.rafael@epa.gov
XXXXXX Metal Fabrication and Finishing: Primary Metal Products Manufacturing
Exempt
Donnalee Jones
jones.donnalee@epa.gov
Rafael Sanchez
sanchez.rafael@epa.gov
XXXXXX Metal Fabrication and Finishing: Valves & Pipe Fittings
Exempt
Donnalee Jones
jones.donnalee@epa.gov
Rafael Sanchez
sanchez.rafael@epa.gov
 
SOURCE CATEGORIES PROMULGATED UNDER DECEMBER 15, 2008 DEADLINE
YYYYYY
Ferroalloys Production
Exempt
--
  Maria Malave
malave.maria@epa.gov
 
SOURCE CATEGORIES PROMULGATED UNDER JUNE 15, 2009 DEADLINE
ZZZZZZ
Copper Foundries
Exempt
Gary Blais
blais.gary@epa.gov
Scott Throwe
throwe.scott@epa.gov
ZZZZZZ
Aluminum Foundries
Exempt
David Cole
cole.david@epa.gov
Scott Throwe
throwe.scott@epa.gov
ZZZZZZ
Nonferrous Foundries
Exempt
--
--
Gary Blais
blais.gary@epa.gov
Scott Throwe
throwe.scott@epa.gov
 
SOURCE CATEGORIES (9) PROMULGATED UNDER October 16, 2009 Deadline
VVVVVV
Chemical Manufacturing Area Sources:
comprised of the 9 following sources
Non-synthetic minors exempt
Nick Parsons
parsons.nick@epa.gov
Marcia Mia
mia.marcia@epa.gov
  Ag Chemicals & Pesticide Mfg
 
       
  Cyclic Crude & Intermediate Production
 
       
  Industrial Inorganic Chemical Manufacturing
 
       
  Industrial Organic Chemical Manufacturing
 
       
  Inorganic Pigments Manufacturing
 
       
  Misc Organic Chemical Manufacturing
 
       
  Pharmaceutical Production
 
       
  Plastic Materials and Resins Mfg
 
       
  Synthetic Rubber Mfg
 
       
 
SOURCE CATEGORIES PROMULGATED UNDER NOVEMBER 16, 2009 AND DECEMBER 16, 2009 DEADLINES
CCCCCCC
Paint and Allied Products Manufacture
Exempt
--
Melissa Payne
payne.melissa@epa.gov
Marcia Mia
mia.marcia@epa.gov
AAAAAAA
Asphalt Processing & Asphalt Roofing Mfg
Exempt
Yes
--
 
Rafael Sanchez
sanchez.rafael@epa.gov
BBBBBBB
Chemical Preparations Industry
Exempt
--
--
  Marcia Mia
mia.marcia@epa.gov
DDDDDDD
Prepared Feeds
Exempt
--
Jan King
king.jan@epa.gov
Scott Throwe
throwe.scott@epa.gov
 
SOURCE CATEGORIES (4) FOR COMPLETING PROGRAM DELAYED UNTIL December 16, 2010
--
Industrial Boilers
--
--
--
--
--
--
Institutional/Commercial Boilers
--
--
--
--
--
--
Sewage Sludge Incineration
--
--
--
--
--
--
Brick and Structural Clay
--
--
--
--
--
 
SOURCES ALREADY WITH APPROVED 111D OR 129 PLANS OR FED PLANS BEING IMPLEMENTED BY STATE
AAAA Muncipal Landfills
Exempt
--
--
 
--
NSPS Ec & 62. HHH Medical Waste Incinerators - HMIWI
Required
--
--
Mary Johnson
johnson.mary@epa.gov
--
NSPS AAAA & 62. JJJ Small Municipal Waste Combustors
Required
--
--
 
--
NSPS CCCC & 62. III Commercial Industrial Solid Waste Incinerators - CISWI
Required
--
--
Brian Shrager
shrager.brian@epa.gov
--
NSPS EEEE no Fed plan yet Other Solid Waste Incineration Units - OSWI
Required
--
--
Mary Johnson
johnson.mary@epa.gov
--
 
AREA SOURCES SUBJECT TO STANDARDS THROUGH 2005, EXCLUDING THOSE WITH 129 OR 111D PLANS
M Dry Cleaning Facilities
Exempt
--
  Scott Throwe
throwe.scott@epa.gov
N Chromic Acid Anodizing, Decorative Chromium Electroplating, Hard Chromium Electroplating
Exempt
--
--
Phil Mulrine
mulrine.phil@epa.gov
Scott Throwe
throwe.scott@epa.gov
O Commercial Sterilization Facilities
Exempt
--
--
Hillary Ward
ward.hillary@epa.gov
Scott Throwe
throwe.scott@epa.gov
T Halogenated Solvent Cleaners / Degreasing Organic Cleaners
Exempt
--
--
Lynn Dail
dail.lynn@epa.gov
Scott Throwe
throwe.scott@epa.gov
X Secondary Lead Smelting
Required
--
--
Chuck French
french.chuck@epa.gov
Maria Malave
malave.maria@epa.gov
EEE Hazardous Waste Incineration
Required
--
--
Frank Behan
behan.frank@epa.gov
TBD - Contact Region 4
IIIII Mercury Cell Chlor-Alkali Plants
Required
--
--
Donnalee Jones
jones.donnalee@epa.gov
Marcia Mia
mia.marcia@epa.gov
LLL Portland Cement
Required
--
--
Keith Barnett
barnett.keith@epa.gov
Rafael Sanchez
sanchez.rafael@epa.gov
RRR Secondary Aluminum Production
Exempt
--
--
Rochelle Boyd
boyd.rochelle@epa.gov
Scott Throwe
throwe.scott@epa.gov
VVV Publicly Owned Treatment Works
Exempt
--
--
  TBD - Contact Region 4

1 Affected facilities are exempt from Title V permit requirements provided they are not required to obtain a permit for another reason.

4TBD - To Be Determined. Federal contacts for these rules will be updated at a later date. Until then, please contact your Regional Compliance office or request regional information at: http://www.epa.gov/ttn/atw/area/regional_contacts.pdf


Jump to main content.