Jump to main content.

Sulfur Dioxide (SO2) Primary National Ambient Air Quality Standards

The Clean Air Act requires EPA to set national ambient air quality standards (NAAQS) for sulfur dioxide and five other pollutants considered harmful to public health and the environment (the other pollutants are ozone, particulate matter, nitrogen dioxide, carbon monoxide, and lead). The law also requires EPA to periodically review the standards to ensure that they provide adequate health and environmental protection, and to update those standards as necessary. Learn more about the NAAQS review process.

Contact: Dr. Michael Stewart

Documents from Current Review

Basic Information on SO2

Documents from Review Completed in 2010

Documents from Review Completed in 1996

Table of Current NAAQS

Table of Historical SO2 NAAQS

Air Quality Index


File Utilities

Local Navigation

Jump to main content.