2017-2018

John E. Milner

Jackson, MS (601) 960-6842

CHAIR-FLECT Amy L. Edwards

Washington, DC (202) 457-5917

VICE CHAIR

Karen A. Mignone Manchester, NH (603) 860-0048

> SECRETARY Jeffery S. Dennis

Washington, DC (202) 637-6349

BUDGET OFFICER Michelle Diffenderfer

West Palm Beach, FI (561) 640-0820

EDUCATION OFFICER Wendy Bowden Crowther Salt Lake City, UT (801) 536-6724

> MEMBERSHIP AND DIVERSITY OFFICER

Sean T. Dixon Ossining, NY (914) 478-4501 x247

PUBLICATIONS OFFICER Jonathan W. Kahn Toronto, ON

(416) 863-3868 IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR

Seth A. Davis Rve. NY (914) 925-0000

SECTION DELEGATES TO THE ABA HOUSE OF DELEGATES

Pamela E. Barker Saint Louis, MO (314) 444-7600

Sheila Slocum Hollis Washington, DC (202) 776-7810

BOARD OF GOVERNORS LIAISON

Tom Bolt St. Thomas, VI (340) 774-2944 x216

COUNCIL

Norman A. Dupont Costa Mesa, CA (949) 202-5818

> Pamela K. Elkow (203) 252-2672

Richard Ericsson Hackensack, NJ (201) 525-6346

Susan Margaret Floyd lackson, MS (601) 969-4848

> Peter I. Gioello Ir. New York, NY (212) 701-3616

Stephen J. Humes New York, NY (212) 513-3473

David Johnson Phoenix, AZ (623) 869-2375

Christine Y. LeBel Springfield, MA (413) 755-2136

Roger R. Martella Jr. Boston, MA 202-253-9027

Channing J. Martin Richmond, VA (804) 420-6422

Ignacia S. Moreno Tysons, VA (703) 946-0077

Angela R. Morrison Tallahassee, FL (850) 270-5447

Margaret E. Peloso Washington, DC (202) 639-6774

> Lauran Sturm Nashville, TN (615) 253-4169

DIRECTOR Dana I. Jonusaitis Chicago, IL (312) 988-5602 February 28, 2018

Via E-mail

The Honorable John Barasso, M.D. Chairman U.S. Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works 410 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Ranking Member U.S. Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works 456 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Dr. Barasso and Mr. Carper:

The signatories to this letter, the current Chair, and many former Chairs of the American Bar Association's Section of Environment, Energy, and Resources (SEER), are pleased to offer their support for the consideration of Peter C. Wright as Assistant Administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) Office of Land and Emergency Management (OLEM). Peter has been a friend, colleague, inspiring leader, and faithful supporter of SEER for many years. Peter's leadership skills, expansive subject matter expertise in OLEM-related areas, impeccable character, and personal integrity will ensure his success as Assistant Administrator of OLEM.

SEER is the premier forum for environment, energy, and natural resource lawyers. Our 10,000 plus members share their expertise, leadership, and vision for the future by collaborating on educational programs, public service outreach, and a vast array of publications on topics relevant to our members and the broader legal and lay communities interested in these topics.

Peter has been a SEER member for many years and has served in countless leadership positions. Peter's calm, deliberate, and comforting style, his expansive substantive knowledge of the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA), the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA), and related land management legal and regulatory systems and programs, as well as his personal integrity and honor have earned the respect

The Honorable John Barasso, M.D. The Honorable Thomas R. Carper December 15, 2017 Page 2

and admiration of SEER officers, members, and staff. Peter's career, his selfless commitment to SEER and the members it serves, and his well-recognized personal integrity exemplify the highest standards of the legal profession. We enthusiastically and without reservation support the consideration of Peter as Assistant Administrator for OLEM, and believe Peter will serve the office with distinction and honor.

Sincerely,

John E. Mily

John E. Milner, Esquire Chair

American Bar Association
Section of Environment, Energy, and Resources

Past Chairs:

Seth A. Davis, 2016-2017 Pamela E. Barker, 2015-16, Steven T. Miano, 2014-15, William L. Penny, 2013-14 Alexandra Dapolito Dunn, 2012-13 Irma S. Russell, 2011-12 John C. Cruden, 2009-10 Claudia Rast, 2008-09 Lee A. DeHihns, III, 2007-08 Lauren James Caster, 2006-07 Lynn L. Bergeson, 2005-06 Michael B. Gerrard, 2004-05 Kenneth J. Warren, 2003-04 Eugene E. Smary, 2002-03 Sheila Slocum Hollis, 2001-02 Theodore L. Garrett, 2000-01 R. Kinnan Golemon, 1994-95