An official website of the United States government.

We've made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Assessing and Managing Chemicals under TSCA

Chemical Substances Undergoing Prioritization: High Priority

On August 23, 2019, EPA proposed to designate 20 chemical substances as high-priority substances for upcoming risk evaluations. The Agency is asking for public comments on the proposed designations by November 21, 2019. 

High Priority Candidates
Chemical Name CAS Docket Number Status* Agency Contact
p-Dichlorobenzene 106-46-7 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0446 Proposed Eileen Sheehan
Email:
Sheehan.eileen@epa.gov
Phone: 415-972-3287
1,2-Dichloroethane 107-06-2 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0427 Proposed Tyler Lloyd
Email:
Lloyd.tyler@epa.gov
Phone:  202-564-4016
trans-1,2- Dichloroethylene 156-60-5 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0465 Proposed Toni Krasnic
Email:
Krasnic.toni@epa.gov
Phone:  202-564-0984
o-Dichlorobenzene 95-50-1 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0444 Proposed Eileen Sheehan
Email:
Sheehan.eileen@epa.gov
Phone: 415-972-3287
1,1,2-Trichloroethane 79-00-5 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0421 Proposed Tyler Lloyd
Email:
Lloyd.tyler@epa.gov
Phone:  202-564-4016
1,2-Dichloropropane 78-87-5 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0428 Proposed Clara Hull
Email: 
Hull.clara@epa.gov
Phone:  202-564-3954
1,1-Dichloroethane 75-34-3 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0426 Proposed Clara Hull
Email: 
Hull.clara@epa.gov
Phone:  202-564-3954
Dibutyl phthalate (DBP) (1,2-Benzene- dicarboxylic acid, 1,2- dibutyl ester) 84-74-2 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0503 Proposed Peter Gimlin
Email: 
Gimlin.peter@epa.gov
Phone:  202-566-0515
Butyl benzyl phthalate (BBP) - 1,2-Benzene- dicarboxylic acid, 1- butyl 2(phenylmethyl) ester 85-68-7 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0501 Proposed Bethany Masten
Email: 
Masten.bethany@epa.gov
Phone:  202-564-8803
Di-ethylhexyl phthalate (DEHP) - (1,2-Benzene- dicarboxylic acid, 1,2- bis(2-ethylhexyl) ester) 117-81-7 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0433 Proposed Lea Carmichael
Email: 
Carmichael.lea@epa.gov
Phone:  202-564-4689
Di-isobutyl phthalate (DIBP) - (1,2-Benzene- dicarboxylic acid, 1,2- bis-(2methylpropyl) ester) 84-69-5 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0434 Proposed John Yowell
Email: 
Yowell.john@epa.gov
Phone:  202-564-1213
Dicyclohexyl phthalate 84-61-7 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0504 Proposed Mike Wilson
Email: 
Wilson.mike@epa.gov
Phone: 202-566-0521
4,4'-(1-Methylethylidene)bis[2, 6-dibromophenol] (TBBPA) 79-94-7 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0462 Proposed Hannah Braun
Email: 
Braun.hannah@epa.gov
Phone: 202-564-5614
Tris(2-chloroethyl) phosphate (TCEP) 115-96-8 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0476 Proposed Claudia Menasche
Email: Menasche.claudia@epa.gov
Phone: 202-564-3391
Phosphoric acid, triphenyl ester (TPP) 115-86-6 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0458 Proposed Sue Slotnick
Email: Slotnick.sue@epa.gov
Phone: 202-566-1973
Ethylene dibromide 106-93-4 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0488 Proposed Meredith Comnes
Email:
Comnes.meredith@epa.gov
Phone: 202-564-3193
1,3-Butadiene 106-99-0 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0451 Proposed Jeff Taylor
Email:
Taylor.jeffrey@epa.gov
Phone: 202-564-8828
1,3,4,6,7,8-Hexahydro-4,6,6,7,8,8-hexamethylcyclopenta [g]-2-benzopyran (HHCB) 1222-05-5 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0430 Proposed Ana Corado
Email:
Corado.ana@epa.gov
Phone: 202-564-0140
Formaldehyde 50-00-0 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0438 Proposed Todd Coleman
Email:
Coleman.todd@epa.gov
Phone: 202-564-1208
Phthalic anhydride 85-44-9 EPA-HQ-OPPT-2018-0459 Proposed Marc Edmonds
Email:
 Edmonds.marc@epa.gov
Phone: 202-566-0758
*Status is listed as either:
  • Initiated – The first step of the prioritization process, and the chemical is currently undergoing a screening level review of reasonably available information to inform its priority designation;
  • Proposed – The second step of the prioritization process, when EPA proposes a chemical’s designation as either high or low priority for risk evaluation; or
  • High/Low - The final step of the prioritization process. This chemical has been designated as high or low priority for risk evaluation.