An official website of the United States government.

We've made some changes to If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Data and Reports about Beach Health

Photo of EPA scientists discussing water quality data
  • Annual Swimming Season Statistics Search EPA Archive
    From 1999 through 2012, the EPA published national summary reports about beach advisories and closings to help beachgoers make informed decisions about swimming at U.S. Coastal and Great Lakes beaches. These reports along with state-by-state data are available in the EPA Archive.
  • BEACON—Beach Advisory and Water Quality Data
    EPA created the Beach Advisory and Closing Online Notification (BEACON) system to meet the Agency's requirement to provide to the public a database of pollution occurrences for coastal recreation waters. BEACON contains state-reported beach monitoring and notification data. EPA recently updated BEACON to include several enhancements and has named the new system BEACON 2.0.
    • The BEACON 2.0 User's Guide describes how to use the online BEACON 2.0 system to obtain state-reported beach monitoring and notification data.
    • The Submitting Data to EPA page provides resources and reference materials for state beach program managers and IT staff responsible for submitting beach monitoring (water quality), notification (advisory and closing), and beach location data to EPA as required by the BEACH Act.
  • National List of Beaches
    EPA maintains a list of coastal recreation waters adjacent to beaches (or similar points of access) used by the public in the U.S. The list, required by the Beaches Environmental Assessment and Coastal Health Act (BEACH Act), identifies waters that are subject to a state beach water quality monitoring and public notification program consistent with the National Beach Guidance and Required Performance Criteria for BEACH Act Grants. The list contains the most recent information reported to EPA by coastal and Great Lakes states, territories, and eligible tribes.