An official website of the United States government.

Environmental Justice for CAA Permits in Region 8

Region 8 considers environmental justice in the permitting process for PSD and Tribal NSR permits for facilities on 27 Tribal Nations in Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming.

When EPA undertakes a permitting action under the Clean Air Act, we will consider the needs of minority populations, low-income populations and indigenous peoples — those most impacted by environmental and public-health concerns — and provide opportunity for these populations to have a voice in shaping our final permitting action.

What is Environmental Justice?

Working with Communities

Guiding Principles

Environmental Justice Screening and Mapping Tool