We've made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Compliance

Pesticide Inspector Regulatory Training (PIRT)

On this page:

About the Pesticide Inspector Regulatory Training Program

The Pesticide Inspector Regulatory Training (PIRT) program typically funds two national pesticide classroom courses a year for state, tribal, and territorial inspectors. In the past, the PIRT has covered the following topics:

  • urban FIFRA issues
  • advanced inspector skills
  • agricultural use
  • structural training
  • fumigation
  • product related trainings.

There is also a Tribal PIRT that is offered to federally-recognized tribes every other year, which is coordinated by a small tribal planning committee that changes with each Tribal PIRT.

Top of Page

PIRT Steering Committee

The main PIRT program is coordinated by a small steering committee that helps establish PIRT strategic direction and priorities, as well as to recommend key training topics for pesticide inspectors.

The steering committee membership consists of:

The membership of the PIRT steering committee is staggered so that that no more than 1/3 of the members rotate off the committee on an annual basis following the federal fiscal year cycle (October 1 - September 30). Therefore, no member, exclusive of the coordinator and PREP liaison, remains on the steering committee more than three consecutive years.

Steering Committee Members
Name Organization Region Represented Fiscal Year Term Expires
Jasmine Brown 
(jasmineb@cskt.org)
Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribe 8 2019
Tony Cofer (AAPCO)
(tony.cofer@agi.alabama.gov)
Alabama Dept. of Agriculture & Industries 4 2018
Africa Dorame-Avalos 
(africa.dorame-avalos@itcaonline.com)
Inter Tribal Council of Arizona, Inc. 9 2018
Kelly Engle (Coordinator)
(engle.kelly@epa.gov)
EPA Office of Compliance HQ N/A
Kevin Holdorf 
(kevin.holdorf@nebraska.gov)
Nebraska Department of Agriculture 7 2018
Pat Livingston 
(livingston.patricia@epa.gov)
EPA Region 4 4 2019
Lee McMillan
(mcmillan.lee@epa.gov)
EPA Region 6 6 2020
Ralph Phillip Morris 
(ralph.morris@gric.nsn.us)
Gila River Indian Community 9 2020
Bruce Nicely 
(bruce.nicely@ncagr.gov)
North Carolina Dept. of Agriculture and Consumer Services 4 2020
Andy Randall (AAPCO Lab Committee Chair)
(arandall@nmda.nmsu.edu)
New Mexico Department of Agriculture 6 2020
Neil Richmond
(neil.richmond@freshfromflorida.com)
Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 4 2020
George Saxton (ASPCRO)
(saxton@purdue.edu)
Office of Indiana State Chemist 5 2019
Dave Star 
(star.david@epa.gov)
EPA Region 5 5 2018
Dea Zimmerman (PREP)
(zimmerman.dea@epa.gov)
EPA Office of Pesticide Programs HQ N/A

Top of Page

PIRT Charter

  • The PIRT Charter outlines the expectations for the PIRT coordinator, steering committee, and hosts.

Top of Page

Trainings

Title Location Date(s)
Urban FIFRA Issues Henderson, NV May 18-22, 2015
Advanced Inspector Skills Albuquerque, New Mexico February 23-27, 2015
Worker Protection Standard (WPS) Asheville, North Carolina May 2-5, 2016
Inspection Skills and Investigation Techniques – Tribal PIRT Polson, Montana August 16-18, 2016
Pollinator Protection Kissimmee, Florida September 13-16, 2016
Worker Protection Standard (WPS) Portland, Oregon April 24-27, 2017
Advanced Inspector Skills Savannah, Georgia July 24-27, 2017
Enforcement PIRT Savannah, Georgia Late Spring/Early Summer 2018
Basic Inspector PIRT Asheville, North Carolina September 9-13, 2018
Tribal PIRT Poplar, Montana September 17-21, 2018

Top of Page

Contacts

  • For more information on the PIRT program, contact Kelly Engle (engle.kelly@epa.gov)
  • For more information on the Tribal PIRT program, contact Carol Galloway (galloway.carol@epa.gov)

Top of Page