DWSRF Eligibilities

DWSRFs fund a wide range of drinking water infrastructure projects.  Six categories of projects are eligible to receive DWSRF assistance.  These categories and examples of projects within them are:

  • Treatment
    • Projects to install or upgrade facilities to improve drinking water quality to comply with SDWA regulations
  • Transmission and distribution
    • Rehabilitation, replacement, or installation of pipes to improve water pressure to safe levels or to prevent contamination caused by leaky or broken pipes
  • Source
    • Rehabilitation of wells or development of eligible sources to replace contaminated sources
  • Storage
    • Installation or upgrade of finished water storage tanks to prevent microbiological contamination from entering the distribution system
  • Consolidation
    • Interconnecting two or more water systems
  • Creation of new systems
    • Construct a new system to serve homes with contaminated individual wells
    • Consolidate existing systems into a new regional water system
You may need Adobe Reader to view files on this page. See EPA’s About PDF page to learn more.