We've made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Environmental Justice

EJ 2020 Outreach & Engagement

On this page:


Public Comments 

children getting off a school busEPA greatly appreciates the large number of thoughtful comments submitted by communities and our stakeholders on the EJ 2020 Action Agenda. The engagement and feedback we received during the drafting of the strategy has provided great momentum to continue such meaningful involvement with stakeholders around the country. Such engagement plays a critical role in achieving EJ 2020’s goals, and resulted in a significant number of helpful changes in the document. 

EPA conducted robust stakeholder engagement in the process of developing the EJ 2020 Action Agenda (EJ 2020), which included two public comment periods. The first solicited comments on the EJ 2020’s draft framework (April 15 – July 14, 2015) and the second solicited comments on the final plan (May 23 – July 28, 2016).  

Top of Page


Tribal Consultation

EPA conducted consultation with federally recognized tribes on the draft EJ 2020 Action Agenda, from May 23rd through July 28th 2016. This consultation and coordination process was conducted in accordance with the EPA Policy on Consultation and Coordination with Indian Tribes. For more information regarding the EJ 2020 tribal consultation, please contact ">Dona Harris or your regional or program EJ 2020 point of contact.

Top of Page


Trainings & Webinars

To increase opportunities for stakeholder engagement and enhance capacity for environmental justice efforts, EPA will host webinars for the public on all of the EJ 2020 priority areas and national EJ challenges. EPA will also maximize the use of the EPA EJ Listserv to share EJ 2020 related information, events and trainings. To sign up for the EPA EJ Listserv, please visit this link. Please also visit this site regularly for information on webinars and trainings as they become available.

Top of Page


Points of Contact

Program/Region Point of Contact
Region 1 Sharon Wells (wells.sharon@epa.gov)
Region 2 Christine Ash (ash.christine@epa.gov)
Region 3 Reginald Harris (harris.reggie@epa.gov)
Region 4 Cynthia Peurifoy (peurifoy.cynthia@epa.gov)
Region 5 Alan Walts (walts.alan@epa.gov)
Region 6 Gloria Vaughn (vaughn.gloria@epa.gov)
Region 7 Althea Moses (moses.althea@epa.gov)
Region 8 Corbin Darling (darling.corbin@epa.gov)
Region 9 Deldi Reyes (reyes.deldi@epa.gov)
Region 10 Running Grass (grass.running@epa.gov)
Office of Air and Radiation Shanika Whitehurst (whitehurst.shanika@epa.gov)
Office of Chemical Safety and Pollution Prevention Amanda Hauff (hauff.amanda@epa.gov@epa.gov)
Office of Congressional and Intergovernmental Relations Pamela Janifer (janifer.pamela@epa.gov)
Office of Enforcement and Compliance Assurance Loan Nguyen (nguyen.loan@epa.gov)
Office of International and Tribal Affairs Dona Harris (harris.dona@epa.gov)
Office of Policy Kelly Maguire (maguire.kelly@epa.gov)
Office of Research and Development Fred Hauchman (hauchman.fred@epa.gov)
Office of Solid Waste and Emergency Response Pat Carey (carey.pat@epa.gov)
Office of Water Alice Walker (walker.alice@epa.gov)
Office of Children’s Health Protection Khesa Reed (reed.khesha@epa.gov)
Office of Civil Rights Lilian Dorka (dorka.lilian@epa.gov)
Office of General Counsel Michele Knorr (knorr.michele@epa.gov)
Office of Sustainable Communities Angela Hackel (hackel.angela@epa.gov)
Office of Environmental Justice Tai Lung (lung.tai@epa.gov)

Top of Page