An official website of the United States government.

National Environmental Policy Act in EPA Region 3

EPA's National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) office in Region 3 serves Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia.

On this page:


Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) in Region 3

See list of EISs in Region 3 by state:

Search in the Full EIS Database
Find EISs with open comment or wait periods

Top of Page


NEPA Region 3 Special Topics

Mountaintop Mining

Mountaintop coal mining is a surface mining practice involving the removal of mountaintops to expose coal seams, and disposing of the associated mining overburden in adjacent valleys. EPA, in conjunction with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, the U.S. Department of the Interior's Office of Surface Mining and Fish & Wildlife Service, and the West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection, prepared an environmental impact statement looking at the impacts of mountaintop mining and valley fills.

Top of Page


Region 3 EPA NEPA Contacts:

Name Title Phone Number Email
Samantha Beers Director, Office of Communities, Tribes & Environmental Assessment (215) 814-2717 beers.samantha@epa.gov
Stepan Nevshehirlian NEPA Program Manager (215) 814-3402 nevshehirlian.stepan@epa.gov
Barbara Rudnick

NEPA Lead

(215) 814-3322

rudnick.barbara@epa.gov
Barbara Okorn NEPA Reviewer
NEPA Specialty Topic: Transportation-Virginia and West Virginia, Endangered Species Act, Land Management

(215) 814-3330

okorn.barbara@epa.gov
Carrie Traver NEPA Reviewer
NEPA Specialty Topic: Federal Facilities, GSA, Corps, NASA, energy

(215) 814-2795

traver.carrie@epa.gov
Brian Hamilton NEPA Reviewer
NEPA Specialty Topic: Tribal Affairs, Energy

(215) 814-5497

hamilton.brian@epa.gov
Richard Paiste NEPA Reviewer
NEPA Specialty Topic: Public Health

(215) 814-5739

paiste.richard@epa.gov
Matthew Lee NEPA Reviewer
NEPA Specialty Topic: Environmental Justice
(215) 814-2917 lee.matthew@epa.gov
Tom Mullen Region 3's NEPA Team IT and Database Management

(215) 814-2779

mullen.thomas@epa.gov

Top of Page