An official website of the United States government.

Due to a lapse in appropriations, EPA websites will not be regularly updated. In the event of an environmental emergency imminently threatening the safety of human life or where necessary to protect certain property, the EPA website will be updated with appropriate information. Please note that all information on the EPA website may not be up to date, and transactions and inquiries submitted to the EPA website may not be processed or responded to until appropriations are enacted.

We've made some changes to If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Trade Ban Rule for HCFCs

The Montreal Protocol obligates all parties, including the United States, to ban the trade of hydrochlorofluorocarbons with countries that have not ratified the Beijing Amendment. In 2014, EPA issued a rule to ensure that its regulations are consistent with the United States’ obligations under the Montreal Protocol and Clean Air Act.

Two countries are subject to the trade ban: Kazakhstan and Mauritania. Countries will be removed from the trade ban restrictions when they ratify the Beijing Amendment or are found to be in compliance with the Beijing Amendment by the Parties to the Protocol. The ratification status can be found at the United Nations Environment Programme Ozone Secretariat’s websiteExit