An official website of the United States government.

Contacts in the Office of Pesticide Programs, Biopesticides and Pollution Prevention Division

The Biopesticides and Pollution Prevention Division (BPPD) is responsible for all regulatory activities associated with biologically-based pesticides and emerging technologies. BPPD activities also include work to reduce pesticide risks by promoting integrated pest management and coordinating the Pesticide Environmental Stewardship Program.

Please refer all general registration inquiries to our Ombudsman at BPPDQuestions@epa.gov.

On this page:

Nam E-Mail Phone Area of Responsibility

Division Director's Office
Fax: 703-308-7026

Charles “Billy” Smith smith.charles@epa.gov 703-305-0291 Acting Director
Anne Overstreet overstreet.anne@epa.gov 703-308-8068 Deputy Director
Chris Wozniak

wozniak.chris@epa.gov

703-308-4043 Senior Biotech Advisor
 

Top of Page

Biochemical Pesticides Branch

Registration and risk management for biochemical pesticides (including pheromones) and biochemical plant growth regulators. Enforcement case reviews and 25(b) issues related to biochemical pesticides.

Linda Hollis hollis.linda@epa.gov 703-308-8733 Branch Chief
Andrew Bryceland bryceland.andrew@epa.gov 703-305-6928 Team Leader
Gina Burnett burnett.gina@epa.gov 703-605-0513 Senior Regulatory Advisor
 

Top of Page

Emerging Technologies Branch

Risk management oversight, risk assessment, and policy/rulemaking for products of biotechnology, Wolbachia, genetically engineered mosquitoes, Plant Incorporated Protectants (PIPs), and insect resistance management. Registration Review for PIPs.

Mike Mendelsohn mendelsohn.mike@epa.gov 703-308-8715 Branch Chief
Alan Reynolds reynolds.alan@epa.gov 703-605-0515 Product Manager
Elizabeth Milewski milewski.elizabeth@epa.gov 703-347-0400 Senior Advisor - Science Policy
Cassandra Kirk kirk.cassandra@epa.gov 703-347-0672 Acting Senior Advisor
Wiebke Striegel striegel.wiebke@epa.gov 703-347-0556 Senior Scientist
 

Top of Page

Microbial Pesticides Branch

Registration and risk management for microbial pesticides and microbial plant growth regulators. Enforcement case reviews for microbial pesticides and registration review for microbial and biochemical pesticides.

Seiichi Murasaki murasaki.seiichi@epa.gov 703-347-0163 Branch Chief
Jeannine Kausch kausch.jeannine@epa.gov 703-347-8920 Product Manager
Donna Kamarei kamarei.donna@epa.gov 703-347-0443 Re-Evaluation Team Leader 
Daniel Schoeff schoeff.daniel@epa.gov 703-347-0143 Acting Senior Regulatory Advisor
 

Top of Page

Risk Assessment Branch

Risk assessments, including human health and ecological, and product characterization for microbial and biochemical pesticides (excluding PIPs). Science policy for microbial and biochemical pesticides.

Shannon Borges borges.shannon@epa.gov 703-305-7175 Branch Chief 
Mark Perry perry.mark@epa.gov 703-308-8024 Risk Assessment Process Leader
John Kough kough.john@epa.gov 703-308-8267 Senior Scientist
Geoff Sinclair sinclair.geoffrey@epa.gov 703-347-0362 Senior Scientist
Angela Gonzales gonzales.angela@epa.gov 703-308-0460 Acting Senior Scientist
Helen Hull-Sanders hull-sanders@epa.gov 703-347-0243 Risk Assessment Process Leader
 

Top of Page

Environmental Stewardship Branch
info.pesp@epa.gov

Reducing pesticide risk through collaborative, non-regulatory efforts including the Pesticide Environmental Stewardship Program and Center for Integrated Pest Management. Ombudsman services for the biopesticides.

Frank Ellis ellis.frank@epa.gov 703-308-8107 Branch Chief
Jennifer Lemon lemon.jennifer@epa.gov 703-347-0336 Team Leader
 

Top of Page

Center for Integrated Pest Management 

ipm@epa.gov

Thomas Cook cook.tom@epa.gov 214-665-9731 Team Leader
 

Top of Page